Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is my favorite type of frosting. I usually make it using an Italian meringue (cooking the sugar syrup and adding it to the whipped egg whites), but the Swiss meringue method in this recipe worked well. I made a half-batch of the recipe and made it into a chocolate buttercream: I melted 2 oz. of chopped unsweetened chocolate in the microwave and let it cool. Once the buttercream was mixed according to the directions, I blended in the cool melted chocolate and a third of a cup of sifted cocoa powder. One half batch was just enough to fill and frost an 8-inch layer cake, if you're careful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Ok, I'm pretty sure that I am not crazy here, I have never had trouble following directions! I have made this buttercream THREE times and have wound up with a yellow soup like mixture that isn't really suitable for cake frosting (plus it doesn't taste the greatest unless you like eating raw butter). All three times I followed the directions to a T! Each and every single time my buttercream ends up into a messy yellow soup! I even refrigerated it OVERNIGHT and woke up to a lumpy yellow mess. Can someone tell me what I amm doing wrong??? I really wanted this to work out as I have heard so many good things about this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I can't say enough good things about this recipe: Simple ingredients, Easy instructions, Wonderful taste and texture. I am definitely keeping this one. As others have said, the only thing that I did differently was to cook the eggs to 160 degrees. It turned out perfectly. I don't see it mentioned anywhere, however after I frosted the cake, I did place it in the 'fridge fora while and it only got better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Soooo good! Tastes great, and is a smooth, luxurious texture. After I started adding butter, it turned soupy and wouldn't firm up with beating. I stuck the bowl in the fridge for about 15 minutes and resumed beating it, and that was all it needed. Great! I found a video on YouTube that helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This frosting is excellent! I reduced the butter to 2 cups and heated the eggs to 160 to be on the safe side. I thought I had ruined it but like the directions said, just keep mixing it and it will come back together. I used it to frost frog cupcakes from this site with my son and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Fam loves while hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F. Peters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Oh my! Awesome icing! If you enjoy an icing that is creamy and decadent that is not overly sugary sweet, this is THE ONE! Had no issues with separating, used a candy thermometer for eggs and sugar, stand mixer for 7 minutes and cut the butter into very small cubes and threw into mixture one at a time. Excellent results! Decorated a Little Mermaid cake with it - colored beautifully! A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I thought I followed the directions. But, I must have not done something right, since my finished product looks nothing like the picture. Rather than trash the entire bowl of icing, I added some confectioners sugar to firm up the icing (I used 3 c butter, so the additional sugar didn't make it any sweeter than your average icing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARACORDELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful! I just made a test batch since I'm auditioning frostings for a wedding cake, and it came out fabulous! I actually halved the butter fearing it would be too "buttery" as some of the prior reviews mentioned, but I think I might add more (if not all) next time. Besides, when reducing the butter, you'd have to cut the sugar a bit in order to account for the lesser volume. I put a little aside, and added a little espresso powder and a little cocoa powder for a mild mocha, and that was great too. I used it for piping, and it piped well. This recipe is the one I'm using for the wedding cake; chocolate cake, mocha buttercream filling, vanilla buttercream frosting and decoration. This is a Swiss meringue buttercream, and I think it's much easier than the Italian buttercream that I tried making before. Oh, I also heated the egg whites to 160*F to eliminate salmonella concerns; recipe turned out fine for me. I used an electric hand mixer, not a stand one also; took a little longer, but the results were good. ****Voice of Experience- DO NOT USE PRE-PACKAGED LIQUID EGG WHITES. They will NOT work (or not well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Make sure your bowl and beaters are free of grease. Also room temperature eggs are best. If you have a gas stove you can put the eggs in the oven the day before because the piolet light will make them the perfect temp. Also you can use stabilzing agents. Wonderful recipe. Definately will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States