Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Nice, easy recipe. For the reviewers that had trouble, there's a simple fix. You have to wait until until your egg/sugar mixture is room temperature before adding the butter. This will take at LEAST 10 minutes of whipping. I usually set my KA on high and then go do something else so I'm not tempted to add the butter too soon. If also doesn't hurt to use slightly chilled butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was so light and creamy! it worked great on my sugar cookies and i mixed it with crushed pepermint candies and used 2 cups of butter rather than 3. it takes about an hour for the egg whites and sugar to heat, but is defenetly worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
this was the first buttercream icing I've tried to make...I personally don't like it. I didn't think it had the creamy consistency that icing should have. It seems too runny. I could have done something wrong though, since it was my 1st time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Meringue buttercreams can seem temperamental, but they are super easy and in my opinion the best tasting buttercreams out there. The key is to heed the recipe's advice and beat the heck out of it, especially when it turns to soup and seems to be curdling. I promise - it *will* come back together. And it will be lovely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is my favorite type of frosting. I usually make it using an Italian meringue (cooking the sugar syrup and adding it to the whipped egg whites), but the Swiss meringue method in this recipe worked well. I made a half-batch of the recipe and made it into a chocolate buttercream: I melted 2 oz. of chopped unsweetened chocolate in the microwave and let it cool. Once the buttercream was mixed according to the directions, I blended in the cool melted chocolate and a third of a cup of sifted cocoa powder. One half batch was just enough to fill and frost an 8-inch layer cake, if you're careful with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Ok, I'm pretty sure that I am not crazy here, I have never had trouble following directions! I have made this buttercream THREE times and have wound up with a yellow soup like mixture that isn't really suitable for cake frosting (plus it doesn't taste the greatest unless you like eating raw butter). All three times I followed the directions to a T! Each and every single time my buttercream ends up into a messy yellow soup! I even refrigerated it OVERNIGHT and woke up to a lumpy yellow mess. Can someone tell me what I amm doing wrong??? I really wanted this to work out as I have heard so many good things about this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I can't say enough good things about this recipe: Simple ingredients, Easy instructions, Wonderful taste and texture. I am definitely keeping this one. As others have said, the only thing that I did differently was to cook the eggs to 160 degrees. It turned out perfectly. I don't see it mentioned anywhere, however after I frosted the cake, I did place it in the 'fridge fora while and it only got better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Soooo good! Tastes great, and is a smooth, luxurious texture. After I started adding butter, it turned soupy and wouldn't firm up with beating. I stuck the bowl in the fridge for about 15 minutes and resumed beating it, and that was all it needed. Great! I found a video on YouTube that helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This frosting is excellent! I reduced the butter to 2 cups and heated the eggs to 160 to be on the safe side. I thought I had ruined it but like the directions said, just keep mixing it and it will come back together. I used it to frost frog cupcakes from this site with my son and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Fam loves while hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F. Peters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States