Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It took me 2 tries to get this one right. The first time I didn't heat the eggs long enough--- second time I made sure ALL the sugar was dissolved. Turned out light and silky, but a bit too buttery. Overall pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
So smooth and creamy and delicious! Not too sweet. Perfect consistency and I love how bright white it is. I'll never use another frosting recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is amazing! It gave me the fluffy topped-up cupcake icing I was looking for. I used my Kitchenaid to mix everything - waiting until the melted sugar and egg white mixture was warm (just above room temp) before mixing. The icing started to look greasy and fall once I got to the half way point of adding butter, just like they said, but I just kept the machine mixing and it eventually came back. Anyhoo - I went with 2 cups of butter instead of 3 and it turned out great. I even used low fat butter (50 ml of sodium) since I could not find unsalted and it turned out perfectly, however I could taste the salt a little. I believe you do really need to find unsalted butter, full fat butter to get the maximum benefit from this recipe. I also think you need to be prepared to doing a lot of mixing! I will return to using the recipe again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
A few days ago, I made a similar recipe which used a higher egg to sugar ratio and found this recipe with someone's review that said to beat on high until it turns. Well it came out like magic! It was a little buttery so I decided to try this recipe with more sugar and less egg. I have been beating on high for about 20 minutes now and all I have is white runny goo. I guess I'll just keep adding powdered sugar until it gets thick enough... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Amazing! I put off making meringue-based buttercream because I thought it would be way too difficult and way too time consuming. This recipe is stunning and so easy! With the end result being light and creamy and a joy to taste! I have made the "American" buttercream for decades and everyone has complimented me on it...wait 'till they taste THIS! Wow! Thanks for making this traditionally labor intensive process accessible to everyone!!! I will continue to make this for special occasions and to the absolute delight of my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I am not a huge fan of buttercream but with little kids I will be making it for years to come so I can decorate their birthday cakes. This recipe is very very buttery tasting. I've made it twice so far and the first time I had temperature problems which temporarily screwed up the texture. The second time it worked great for decorating. Still I have a hard time eating what tastes like solid butter. Maybe I'll try adding more flavoring next time. Words of wisdom: 1.WHIP EGGS WHITE 10 MINTUES!! 2. DON"T USE SALTED BUTTER. 3. YOU CAN CUT RECIPE IN HALF FOR A NORMAL LAYER CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
HELP!!! Soupy, wonderful flavor but I have beat for 30 min after adding butter and vanilla and all I have is soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I just finished making this frosting. I don't normally like butter cream but this is the best I have ever had. I heated the egg white to 160 as others said. I used the bowl from my stand mixer and just quick ran it over to my mixer. Saved on dishes. I also did as another reviewer states to just keep beating it until it come together and it did. Just like magic it thicken back up. This is worth the extra effort to make. I will only use this butter cream from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Amazing is the only way to describe this icing. A half recipe makes plenty for a sheet cake or if you are using a filling on a 2-layer cake between the layers. The key is to make sure you get full volume out of the egg whites (and I use the Wilton meringue powder instead of egg whites) and be super patient with the butter and add no more than a pat of butter at a time. It takes a while, but if you have a stand mixer, it's easy and this frosting is 100% worth the time and effort. If you refrigerate your cake, be sure to take it out about 10 minutes before serving for the icing to soften or it will crumble when cut. This is my new go-to, standard white icing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This recipe was fabulous!!!! I used only 2 cups of butter though. It requires a lot of beating. I beat the eggs and sugar for 7 minutes at a very high speed. I lowered the setting on the mixer just a bit and then added the butter and vanilla. Once all the butter and the vanilla was in I walked away from my stand mixer. I came back about 10 minutes later to a beautiful, creamy and delicious buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States