Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
It work for me with just the 2 cups of butter and I wait until the bowl was cool to put in the butter so it wouldn't be soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Cut sugar to 1 1/2 C., and butter to 2 cups, and it was perfect! I love this frosting... (4 stars just because I cut the sugar/butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very very very buttery. Go beyond room temp to cool before you put your butter in. Once in the mixer don't use a whisk attachment at all. The eggs may not stiffen up right away but will still be ready for the butter and vanilla and won't turn to soup because it starts out soupy. I thought it just was too buttery tasting, so I added 1/4 cup powdered sugar and a couple tablespoons of heavy cream and it helped. This recipe is used professionally by those who don't like shortening, however it really isn't perfect for the basic family get together with family members watching their cholesterol. If you really like butter then try an icing like the icing with the recipe; Red Velvet Cake I - You will be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakemorecake
Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This recipe is easy to make, tastes delicious and has a very pleasing texture. I live in an area that gets pretty hot, so I've had trouble in the past with other meringue buttercreams. This recipe even came out perfect on a day with high humidity (83%). Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't have egg whites so I used meringue powder. Added about 1 cup of melted chocolate chips add the very end. DO NOT STOP MIXING! You feel like you are never going to get there, but eventually it turned into cool-whip like texture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time, this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I followed these directions to a tee, I am not a novice in the kitchen. I have been beating this frosting mixture for one hour and its still like soup. I think the time for it to "come together" has come and gone. Now I have to try and see if I can salvage this somehow in order to be able to finish a cake order. I should have tried it before hand but the reviews were so positive (mostly) that I threw caution to the wind. I will be pulling an all nighter in order to get my sheet cake out by tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. It makes A LOT, too. I scaled it down to 18 servings and still had enough for two dozen cupcakes. The texture is great and the flavor is divine. Using salted butter will darn near ruin it though. I made no changes and followed the directions to a "T". This will likely become my go-to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is a really great simple recipe. I just finished making it for some cupcakes for a friends wedding anniversary. YUM! I have made Swiss meringue buttercream before, but lost my recipe, and couldn't remember the ratio of ingredients. This one is spot on. If you have never tried this, give it a go. It's rich and oh so silky. I never use a candy thermometer. I rub a bit of the egg/ sugar mixture between fingers. If the grittiness of the sugar is gone, it's perfect. Very important too is letting the mixture cool before whipping the meringue. Using a different bowl than the one you used to cook the egg whites will cool them much quicker than using the same bowl for cooking and then for whipping the meringue. Also, your butter should have a bit of give to it, but still be cold in the middle. This will keep your icing from being soupy. Don't freak out, this recipe works!! Add all 6 sticks of butter and it comes out perfect. To use after being stored in the fridge, bring to room temp and re-whip. You will never go back to using powdered sugar based icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Like some others who tried this recipe, I followed the instructions exactly, and got soup, buttery soup. Having read the reviews I continued to beat it for 20 min. but it never came together. I can't help but wonder if the people who had such great reviews are doing something different, some little step that nobody thinks to put in the recipe, because "everybody" know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States