Easiest Lemony Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I read all of the previous reviews and made changes accordingly. I used the entire package of lemon pudding mix, made sure that the cake mix wasn't the pudding kind, omitted the applesauce, added lemon juice and lemon flavoring and reduced fat sour cream. Baked it for 45 minutes. Delicious! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was excellent. I also used the whole package of pudding mix and added 1/2 cup of blueberries to the mixture as I poured it into the pan. After the cake cooled I added whipped topping and sprinkled another 1/2 cup of blueberries on top. Looked and tasted wonderful. I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Simple, quick, easy and moist describes this great cake recipe. I needed a second cake for an outing, so I made one according to the recipe and one with 2T lemon juice, 2t lemon zest and one cup of sour cream (leaving out the applesauce). My family preferred the texture and taste of the second cake, but that's only because we are lemon fans; but the first cake was really very good also. Thanks for sharing, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was the easiest Lemony Pound Cake ever. I went a step further and used a lemon cake mix instead of yellow cake mix and served it with Lemon Icebox Pie Ice Cream...it really kicked it off and the family raved over it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was so easy, I too changed it up a bit. I used a lemon cake mix w/o pudding and used the whole box of pudding. I used 1/4 C of lemon juice instead of water and sour cream. Added a lemon glaze. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This cake turned out wonderful. I took the others advice and skipped the applesauce and used sour cream. I just winged it and it turned out moist and a glaze of confectioners sugar and lemon juice was literally the "icing on the cake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was great, I'm 9 months pregnant and craved something lemony... I did as another reviewer suggested and didn't add the applesauce but lemon juice, zest and sour cream... except I added a lot of juice and zest!!! It was fantastic, can't wait to make it again, just need another burst of energy! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Absolutely terrific! I followed the recipe as written, but used the whole box of lemon pudding-it was great!One word of caution-do not use a cake mix that already has pudding in it-the cake was good while warm, but then became very "heavy". Recipe as written is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very good! Made for a bake sale. Impressive and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was not the easiest pound cake to make. It was way too thick....so thick my blender got hot and went out on me. However, it was a good tasting cake. If you have to beat by hand...good luck you will be beating all day/night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States