Easiest Lemony Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Sorry, but this was nothing like pound cake. I still gave it 3 stars because it was a good-tasting lemon cake, but we were disappointed that it wasn't what we were expecting. The title was misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very good! Made for a bake sale. Impressive and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Maybe I've been spoiling myself with made-from-scratch cakes, but I thought this cake had a slight chemical taste, even though I added fresh lemon juice and lemon zest. Apparently I've become some sort of food snob ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
WAY too heavy. This batter was so thick it wouldn't even spread over the bottom of a square pan, when I took it out of the oven it was still as round as when I poured it in. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was pretty good. I did some changes b/c the batter was too thick for me. I used one stick of butter instead of a half, and added 1/4 cup lemon juice. Good, but I think I am spoiled by regular "pound cake" and this was easy, just not to die for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was the easiest Lemony Pound Cake ever. I went a step further and used a lemon cake mix instead of yellow cake mix and served it with Lemon Icebox Pie Ice Cream...it really kicked it off and the family raved over it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was so easy, I too changed it up a bit. I used a lemon cake mix w/o pudding and used the whole box of pudding. I used 1/4 C of lemon juice instead of water and sour cream. Added a lemon glaze. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This cake turned out wonderful. I took the others advice and skipped the applesauce and used sour cream. I just winged it and it turned out moist and a glaze of confectioners sugar and lemon juice was literally the "icing on the cake"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I read all of the previous reviews and made changes accordingly. I used the entire package of lemon pudding mix, made sure that the cake mix wasn't the pudding kind, omitted the applesauce, added lemon juice and lemon flavoring and reduced fat sour cream. Baked it for 45 minutes. Delicious! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This was not the easiest pound cake to make. It was way too thick....so thick my blender got hot and went out on me. However, it was a good tasting cake. If you have to beat by hand...good luck you will be beating all day/night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States