Easiest Focaccia Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Thanks for sharing. A bit of tweaking resulted in a perfect loaf. Breadmaking is a bit of a challenge, so even though this recipe looks easy enough, those with little breadmaking experience may think the instructions are not clear enough, but unlike baking sweets, which requires exact measurements and methods, breadmaking is more of a loose method that is highly subject to conditions, ie. heat/humidity level fluctuations will result in different rise times even if I were to make this recipe 3 days in a row; the amount of water needed can vary each time I make it as well. Just keep practicing until you get to know the feel of a good dough (not too wet, not too dry) and don't be upset with the poster if their dough rose in 30 min and yours took 60. A bad bread is never a waste, the birds will love your failed experiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy B
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this today and made just a couple of changes. I added salt to the flour, put 1/2 cup of olive oil on my jelly roll pan and turned my dough in that before stretching and poking with my fingers to get all the neat little divets. After raising (2nd time) I topped with Emeril's Italian Seasoning, Garlic salt and a little more olive oil. It turned out light and crispy and totally AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I am a fairly experienced bread maker, but this was my first attempt at foccaccia. I read all the reviews and did add a tsp of salt and one of oil to the dough as well as about 3 tbsp of herbs and garlic. It turned out fantastic. My husband and I sat down and ate the whole batch with butter hot out of the oven. It was the easiest bread I have ever made. I used my kitchen-aide stand mixer so there was no mess at all. I wish everything in life was this easy and this good. A giant hug to Morticia for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midway, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chuckey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Turned out very weird, I followed the recipe to a tee and it turned out very flat and looked undercooked, but I baked it for the more than the alloted time. :( hopefully next time it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very easy! I've only made bread once before and that was 30yrs ago! I sprinkled Italian Seasonings and Garlic Salt on top before cooking, but forgot I was going to try to dimple top like in picture. I was going to use a meat mallot to gently press dimples? Not sure how that is done. You chefs might have to sit down for this next part, but I overcooked it by about 5 min and was too hard for my liking, so took a damp cloth, warmed in microwave and covered the bread in it completely. It actually brought it back to a nice soft crust! It took me ages to add 1 tbsp of water at a time, so will try previous tip of adding 1/4cup then 1 tbs at a time. Can't wait to try variations of this recipe, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this as the recipe states and it was blah. I also rolled it too thin so it was hard in some spots. I will try again with spices and rolling it much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Fantastic!!! I add some salt to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I am not a huge baker so this recipe was perfect for me. I would say it makes about 8 servings if you cut it correctly. I did take the advice of others and added in about 1 tsp of salt for flavor. I customized my bread by rubbing the dough with garlic, an extra drizzle of EVOO. I topped it with sliced roma tomatoes, shaved parmesan and a sprinkle of italian herbs. I plan on making this as a side to my Italian wedding soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Fantastic base recipie... I added olive oil to the dough as well. Doubled recipie with no problem then baked as one big piece, after topping like my favorite focaccia...pushing holes in the top, sprinkling with sea salt, rosemary and parm cheese. So good... so, so good. Family loved it. Thank you for a good basic recipie that I'll keep around...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is THE easiest, as the title says, sprinkled the top with an herb mix of Basil,Oregano,Thyme and Savory, and also sea salt..........wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States