Easiest Ever Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
My 73-yr-old boss gave me almost this exact same recipe (except w/ flour and baking powder, not self-rising flour, and no salt either) when I complained that I couldn't make cobbler. It comes out delicious every time, works just as well with fresh fruit as with canned, and I even tried it with a jar of cherry preserves, and it was great! If you make this, people will think you know how to cook even if you don't. I also like to sprinkle granulated sugar over the top about 10 minutes before it comes out of the oven. Watch out for spilled fruit syrup on the oven bottom though-- either scale down your recipe to fit your pie pan, or protect your oven with tinfoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mimi404
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This recipe is super easy and quick. I used Lite Peaches and Fat-free milk and it turned out delicious. I also did not have self-rising flour, so I used all-purpose flour with 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi404

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I A couple notes ...this can be adapted for any fruit you like , but we prefer the peach , or fresh berries (sugared in their own juice ). It is VERY easy to adjust the size , simply double or triple everything except your butter , the butter is merely portioned for the size of the pan. also , if you reduce the butter too much , you will lose that slightly crispy buttery edge that is so much a part of this recipe(the butter is SUPPOSED to puddle up a little around the edge when the batter is added ) If you're looking for a low fat , low calorie recipe , this wont be it & trying to make it so wont result in a good dessert, but if you want to splurge a little now & then , give it a try! Finally , aside from ice cream , nearly everyone I serve prefers this warm with a little milk poured over the top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
OH MY GOSH, I would give this 10 stars if I could! I doubled the recipe and baked in a 13X9 pan. I used 4 15 oz cans of peaches in heavy syrup, drained the syrup off of 2 cans but not the other two. Used 2 sticks of real butter melted and mixed in with the peaches, and poured the flour/sugar/milk mixture over all, but poured heavier around the edges as suggested by another reviewer. I was not real clear on the bottom/top oven rack thing, so I actually placed my middle rack in the lowest position, and left the top rack in the highest position. I baked it on the lowest rack for about 20 minutes or so, until it had started to 'set up' and just started to brown a little. Then I took it out and sprinkled some cinnamon and sugar over the top and placed it back in the oven on the top rack. I baked it until it set up pretty good (about another 20-25 minutes) I actually used the toothpick test in the dough (crust) on top and it came out clean (thought it might not because of the nature of the *moist* crust, but it did) Took this to work today and served warm with vanilla ice-cream everyone loved it (even one girl who doesn't even like peaches said SHE liked it!) If you like peach cobbler, PLEASE try this!!! YUMMO and EASY too!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is very, very good! It's not too sweet. And the batter comes out moist. In fact, when I first took it out, I wasn't sure is was done. Because all I've ever had was my mom's cobbler, and I NEVER liked it. Her's was dry, very dry, like she made a cake and added fruit, blech (sorry mom). I think this might be good served with cream, or vanilla ice cream. If this is what fruit cobbler is supposed to taste like, I'll be making it often. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I don't understand why this is not rated 5 star! It is just like my Southern grandma made when I was young and I have been trying to duplicate her peach cobbler for years! if you wan't TRUE Southern peach cobbler....this one is it. The batter works great for blackerry cobbler too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Made this for desert again tonight. It's the second time in as many weeks that I have served this delightful desert. It's so flavorful but not overly sweet. The first time I baked this dish I used Fruit Cocktail (only canned fruit I had on hand) and it was surprisingly good. Tonight I stopped by the grocer's on the way home and picked up a can of sliced peaches and a can of sliced mangos. It was wonderful! I cooked it about 5 minutes longer than stated in the recipe. It seems runny when first removed from the oven but firms up as it cools. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
really good and really easy. my only advice would be to make sure you spread the batter evenly over the fruit, because if there's too much in one area it gets kind of gloppy. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I work on a vessel with 20 hungry guys, They absolutely loved this recipe. Kudo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
had this recipe years ago lost it my sons when they were little loved it.its so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Turn fresh peaches into sweet, outrageously delicious cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States