Easiest Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
First time making eggplant ever, and this helped me get rave reviews! I added some garlic to the reduced fat mayo, some parmesean to the seasoned bread crumbs, heated some spaghetti sauce and toasted some bread! Add some mozzerella, and everyone had the yummiest eggplant parmesean sandwiches ever! Even my vegetarian friend who earlier swore to me he hated eggplant. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Okay now this is GREAT eggplant! I recieved a couple of eggplants from my local produce group and didn't know what to do with them. All the other eggplant recipes I have tried the eggplant comes out mushy. This is EXCELLENT! I used lowfat mayo and seasoned my own breadcrumbs. They came out nice and brown in the oven and not at all mushy. After they were done browning, I put a little bit of marinara and low fat mozzerella over each one and then put them under the broiler. Yummy! Thanks Pauline for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Easy yes, but I'd have rather it had been NOT so easy to make but ending up with something more special. Even adding Greek seasoning to the crumbs didn't redeem this from being rather boring and bland. I think sauteeing this rather than baking it would have been a better choice, which would have given this a tasty and crisp, golden brown exterior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Thank you for this super easy method of cooking eggplant. The second time I made it, I made the slices about 1" thick and it seemed to give them more substance when finished. I added garlic to the mayo and parmesan to the bread crumbs to add some flavor. Now I just need some ideas of how to use them other than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was so easy and oh so yummy!! They kinda of taste like fried green tomatoes. After they came out of the oven I sprinkled cheese on them. Next time I do need to slice them a lot thicker, they shrank in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I was very excited about this recipe and I wanted to like it sooo much. BUT it just wasnt good. I was expecting a crisp crust and a soft inside, it was dry and soft throughout. I even used a previous suggestion and added a tomato, marinara sauce, and parm cheese, and it still just taste bad. I will stick to the Mississippi eggplant french fries also on this site, those are incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
WONDERFUL! Such a tastey and easy way to prepare eggplant, who would have thought?!? Made this for dinner and my one year old daughter loved it! Had some left overs the next day and baked them in the toaster oven and made a toasted eggplant sandwich with some provolone and home made garlic bread --- oh so yummy! This is my new favorite way to prepare eggplant! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I have tried a lot of eggplant recipes, and this one was by far the best! It is so easy and they turned out perfect - great texture and not too loaded with oil. I put slices of mozzarella cheese and fresh basil on mine, and dipped them in basalmic vinegar. Yum! Thanks for a great recipe - I will never fry eggplant again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I have been searching for an easy alternative to frying eggplant, so I was very excited about this recipe. It was very good as it was written, and I also layered eggplant, marinara sauce mozz & parm. cheese and threw it under the broiler for a few. It was the easiest eggplant parmisian I've ever made! Everyone loved it and I got cudos for "slaving over a hot stove"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I've always loved eggplant, but I didn't make it often until I found this wonderful recipe! I add garlic powder, oregano and rosemary for extra flavor. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States