Easiest Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I have been making this eggnog ever since finding it in a Home Economics Cookbook "So- you are ready to cook" by Mary Ann Duffie. To the reviewer who gave a low rating because it was not "thick", this is NOT meant to be "thick", if you like it that thick, try using sweetened condensed milk. The only changes I made (to make 1 serving) I used 1 egg, 1 Tbsp sugar, 1 Cup of milk, 1/4 tsp vanilla, a few grains of salt, and added whipped cream and nutmeg for that special touch. I have never had any issues finding egg chunks, as another reviewer mentioned. I find it helps to thoroughly whip the eggs first I am so glad I found this recipe, I was about to submit the one from my old cookbook. It is definately the easiest egg nog out there, and I've never had any illness from consuming the raw eggs. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a good and easy recipe. The main problem I had was that it is so good the way it is, I don't want to put the rum in it that I had intended. I am afraid it may ruin the taste. This is the first egg nog I have had that wasn't commercial, and the best! I also used egg beaters and sucralose. For those who want it thicker, I replaced about 1/2 cup of the low-fat milk with whipping cream. I don't have a blender so I just put everything in a 20 oz. glass with a lid and shook it very hard. I also added a couple of ice cubes to help thicken it more. For those with the vanilla problem, it is probably imitation vanilla vs. real vanilla. With the imitation you need to use more. I used two teaspoons with just 20 ozs. and I still could hardly taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
It had pretty good flavour but we did have some problems with finding little bits of egg chunks while drinking....really gross. I don't think it was the recipe's fault though...they were easily removed with a strainer. Definately worth trying though...more rich than I would have expected with skim milk too. -Em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
The Eggnog tasted soo good, it was really quick to make and it took me a total of about 15 minutes to make it. This was my first time ever making eggnog and It was perfect the first time around, so easy that even a fourteen year old could do it and that's me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Very tasty egg nog. I'm on a low carbohydrate diet. So, I used artificial sweetener. I also used cream in lieu of some of the milk to make it thicker. I tried several of the other recipes and this one is very easy and closer to the taste I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I was skeptical of such a simple recipe. But, it was FANTASTIC, and only took 5 mins at the most!!!It's not as heavy as store bought egg nog so you can actually have more than one glass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm sorry, but this is the first time I've made eggnog at home, but this compares very poorly to every eggnog I've ever had. We made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Sperrazza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is the same recipe my Mom alwaysed used and it bring back such good memories. (I am 64) When I bought the kind in the carton I cut it with milk because I am so used to Mom's. I came on line to find just this recipe. I think this is how egg nog is supposed to taste, although I am sure Mom used whole milk back then brought from the milk man who came every other day to put bottles in the box on the front porch. They always added whiskey or brandy to it for themselfs with just a sip for us. Hope you like it, I am going to go make some right now and put a little brandy in it to drink while I cut out my cut out cookies from the recipe from my mother in law which are the best and I will post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Klynstra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a simple, delicious recipe. I added more sugar so rather than 3T I mixed in about 1/4 cup) and it was perfect. I also put it in the freezer for an hour or so and then blended it again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDENBLUE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I added a little rum, and used pumpkin pie spice in place of nutmeg - it was very good for quick and easy. If you want it thicker, substitute heavy cream for half the milk. Or, separate the eggs, and beat the whites to stiff peaks, then fold in to the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNNKYBUTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States