Easiest Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Used 3 of our own organic freerange eggs from our hens (factory farm eggs raw would scare me too) 1/4 raw sugar, 3 Cups raw whole milk, 1.5 tsp vanilla and hearty dash of nutmeg and mace. Perfection in a glass! Cheers evryone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Loved This! Cartoned egg nog is too thick and too sweet, I always mix with half milk. No need with this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I wanted to make an eggnog that was healthier so I used this recipe as a base. I'm sorry I'm going to be one of those people who totally changes the recipe and then writes a review... I really didn't change it that much, though. :) Instead of egg, I used egg beaters to cut back the calories and cholesterol. I beat the sugar into the egg beaters, mixed in a dash of nutmeg and tsp of vanilla and a TBLS of Rum. I heated the skim milk in a double boiler with cornstarch to thicken (I used a tsp this time, but next time I might use a little more [mix equal parts cornstarch and cold milk before adding to the double boiler]). Used the double boiler so I wouldn't scald the milk and change the taste too much. heat just until you see a few little bubbles. remove from heat and let the milk cool enough so when you add to the egg mixture it doesn't cook the eggs. mix everything together and chill until cold. garnish as desired and voila...healthier and thicker version of this recipe. Still not as awesome as the real stuff from the store but a pretty decent alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Soooo good. Not as thick as ones with cream obviously, but I'm lactose intolerant so this is amazing! I used soy milk and replaced the vanilla extract with rum extract. So good, even my sister liked it! It is very frothy but I still love it. I can hardly ever find soy nog and it's usually digusting. Now I never have to! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is so easy it makes me wonder why you'd buy it from a store. I made it all in my blender and it was the perfect small batch before bed. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I think it is really cool to see this recipe on here. This is the way my mother made it for us growing up, in fact the first time I had even had store bought egg nog, I was like in 6th grade. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Easy and tasty. Took it to a party and all I had to do was rinse out the punch bowl when we were getting ready to leave - everyone drank all of the egg nog! It was very popular with kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Awesome recipe. All the stores ran out of egg nog by Christmas day. This recipe saved my butt. I added a shot of E&J Brandy in a glass of it, added a little nut meg. Stir it up and yummmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Sorry this did taste preety good but health comes first. I did drink a small sample of this but then I thought "my mommy always said egg was bad raw". So I say don't risk your health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Too easy and very good. Hubby liked just a tad bit more sugar in his. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States