Easiest Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Easiest Egg Nog" recipe is a good basic recipe for egg nog. I made mine with almost-flavorless neutral-tasting unsweetened dairy-free SO DELICIOUS ® coconut-milk beverage (instead of regular diary milk), and substituted the sugar with honey. I tried to reduce the sweetener, as is my habit, but found that I needed the full amount for a good-tasting egg nog. Thank you sal for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very quick recipe with good flavor & consistency. If you want a thicker eggnog, separate the eggs. Beat the whites until they have peaks. Beat the egg yolks until they are light yellow. Then blend the two together slowly and carefully. You will not have problems with "egg chunks" if you use fresher eggs. Because this is a raw product, I personally recommend organically certified eggs. The eggsafety.org can help you source fresh, safe eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Being an Australian, this was my first ever attempt at egg nog at Christmas and I have to say the recipe is great! I have nothing to compare this to however, I will concede that I almost trippled the booze content (monkey shoulder whiskey) so that I could taste the kick. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Rock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Yummy. I made mine with almond milk and stevia, still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jese Richert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I just made it tonight because my papa ran out of eggnog store bought. I did not have nutmeg so I used cinnamon instead but it tasted good. I would give it four stars not because it is not good, just not the BEST THING EVER, I loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I like that this recipe makes an egg nog that is thinner and not as sweet as the store bought version. We added rum to half the batch. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Carter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
We loved this! I whipped it up in five minutes and my entire family (husband, 2- and 4-year-olds) devoured it. We topped it with some whipped cream and I look forward to making it again with some thicker ingredients (at my husband's request) and some alcohol for some extra holiday "cheer." Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiebleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is my 1st time ever to make Egg Nog....if I knew how easy it would be I would have saved hundreds of dollars on store bought over the years ....thank you Allrecipes for the great recipe !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Spears

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I read some reviews before making this, which led me to taking some extra steps, then I personalized it a little bit. For a 5 minute egg nog, not bad! Since I only had imitation vanilla on hand, I ended up using 1 TBS. I only drink non-fat milk, which was too thin here, so I took someone's advice and added ice cubes. I also whisked the eggs very well before adding them to the blender. Used 1/2 sucralose 1/2 sugar. I taste-tested, and found that a pinch of nutmeg didn't make a dent, and nutmeg alone, for me, doesn't work. So I added 1/8 tsp each of nutmeg, cinnamon, ground cloves, ginger and allspice, a/k/a pumpkin spices or molasses cookie spices. They are my favorites, always have them. I could've put more in, but subtle's okay tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KER33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used pasteurized eggs instead of fresh eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States