Easiest Brownies Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Made these brownies tonight. They are a little pasty going in the pan,the batter had to be spread a little more than regular brownies, no real pouring of any kind. There is no baking soda or powder, so they don't rise. I used a 9x13 glass dish and baked them for the recommended time and an additional 5 minutes and they still could have used another 5 minutes. These brownies are very chocolatey and very moist. I don't know if this had anything to do with the fact that I substituted coconut oil for butter, but they were moist. The height of these were about a 1/2". I would recommend making these in a pinch if you are craving something sweet and chocolatey. However, I think I would cut back on the sugar and add a teaspoon of baking soda. I do recommend using the coconut oil. I don't remember brownies tasting buttery. An excellent easy recipe for the decadent chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is my favorite brownie recipe. It's quick and easy, all made in one pot on the stove. They are moist and chewy. To those calling it "too chocolate-y", I suppose it's a matter of taste--I personally don't see how any brownie can be too chocolate-y, I can only see that as a good thing! To me, these brownies are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacywallace
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
No baking powder and brown sugar rather than white were both tip-offs to how fudgy and moist these would be. More cocoa powder than most recipes guaranteed these would be deeply chocolate. It was interesting to try something a little different and in this case it paid off. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Well, I was torn by the reviews...but desired the simplicity of the recipe due to what I had on hand. Based on the negative reviews, it seemed like the butter might be the problem(?) So, I substituted oil. Now, I had to leave them in the oven a little longer and they still seem under-cooked gooey...but I think subbing the oil works and next time I'll leave them in for a solid 30 minutes before taking it out. (It may be worth noting that I have a gas oven and sometimes that can make a difference.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These brownies were awesome! I only had about 1/2 cup of Cocoa, so I used about 1 cup of hot chocolate mix in addition to the 1/2 cup of Cocoa. I used pecans instead of walnuts because I didn't have any walnuts. The brownies were super moist, and tasted just like brownies should...nice and chocolatey. Go ahead and try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
They truly are the "easiest" but they are the "best" too. Just as quick and easy as a mix. Will never by brownie mix again. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very interesting brownie...the batter was very stiff, which was odd, and I found I had to increase the baking time (like in everything I bake where I live). The end result however, was...different. It was rock solid when you tried to cut it, but as soon as you took a bite, it melted in your mouth-delicious! It was not your typical chewy, soft brownie, but it was very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Amazingly gooey chocolateness! I love! I love! I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
OMG! These are PERFECT!!! Not too cakey; not too chewy. I made some tonight--licked the bowl like a little kid, and almost didn't want to put them in the oven (LOL). The pan was in the oven before I remembered... I forgot to add the salt. As it turns out, I DIDN"T NEED TO! :) Yummmmm... This recipe is DEFINATELY a KEEPER! Thanks ssooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Just made these! Note: You MUST love, say, 85 percent dark chocolate in order to appreciate these. I baked mine in a 9" pie pan because my 9 in. pan was in use. I adjusted the time to 25 minutes. I also made a few major recipe changes: I omitted the salt (not necessary) and used only 1 stick of butter. In lieu of the remaining butter, I mixed 1/4 cup nonfat GREEK yogurt with 1/4 cup milk. I also omitted the walnuts. This had a peanut-butter-like consistency. I made my own chocolate buttercream (1 cup powdered sugar, 1/3 cup cocoa, 3 T melted butter, 2 t vanilla and milk to make a spreadable consistency). These need something sweet to offset the non-sweet brownies...if not my icing, at least some vanilla ice cream. I am a dark chocolate freak and these are good. I'd make them again, but only with the substitutions I listed and absolutely with the buttercream icing or ice cream. 2 cups of sugar is crazy for any recipe, but understandable since this recipe uses a full CUP of cocoa. Try this is you like bittersweet chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States