Easiest Brown Gravy Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I thought this gravy tasted terrible. WAY too much wine in this recipe-- It overpowered all of the other ingredients and had too much of a tang for me. Will be tossing this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made as is. It has too much Marsala for my taste with turkey. . It has good taste, but next time, I'll cut back to half and add more if needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made it according to the recipe. It tasted like canned gravy with canned condensed soup mixed in. I'm not planning to make it again...ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great gravy but WAY too much wine. I would use 1/2 cup only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is so tasty and easy, much better than using dripping and flour or corn starch to make gravy. Tasted WONDERFUL over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is very good. I always used the 50 cent package gravy mixes where you add water, and this is simple and easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by blue-eyes
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I'm so glad I tried this! I was wary after reading some of the reviews. I wanted a different sauce to go with the meatballs I just made-i'm tired of going with marinara or swedish. I found this and figured I didn't have much to lose. It is so good! I switched the wine for beef broth, it's the only change I made. Tastes like the gravy you'd get in a country cooking restaurant, and made my kitchen smell so good! This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Found this just ok. I will go back to my old standby. Sorry. Nana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I was trying to find a quick easy recipe for mushroom/brown gravy since I was short on time. I made this recipe to the "T" and all I can say is, that next time I will be doing my own recipe, time and all. Sorry, I hate to give negative reviews, but I also hate to throw away perfectly good food and wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I am not much of a wine person and didn't have any on hand, but we had the other ingredients and used water instead of wine, and added freshly ground black pepper. It was FANTASTIC. We used it on hamburger steaks and my whole family loved it and wanted more. So simple, yet so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States