Easier Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I really liked this recipe, but I did make a few changes which I think made it even better. After I browned the chicken breasts I removed them from the pan and sauteed the mushrooms along with 3 cloves of crushed garlic. I then combined one can of cream of mushroom soup with a cup of marsala wine, then poured the mixture over the chicken I returned to the pan. I let simmer for 15 minutes, and it was the best I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
514 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madawaska, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
I made this for my husband last night and it tasted just like the version from the Macaroni Grill. I took the advice of many of the previous reviewers and used more mushrooms, including chopped portabello, twice as much Marsala wine (the sweet variety), and slivered garlic added with the mushrooms. I also simmered the entire thing for 35 minutes covered for the first 20 and then uncovered for the last 15. In addition, I decided to put in a bit of heavy cream at the end, which I figured couldn't hurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Wow, what a recipe! I really didn't think it would turn out to be so tender and juicy, but it was. So many chicken recipes turn out dry, but this one was just wonderful. Made my kitchen smell awesome! I made it with rosemary potatoes and fresh green beans. What a meal! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I've made this recipe numerous times. I like tripling the marsala wine and adding equal parts chicken broth. 5 minutes before serving I add cornstarch to thicken. Serve over linguine. I've made with the chicken breast whole and as strips. Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Oh, this was just excellent! My boyfriend and I couldn't get enough. The chicken was juicy and tender, the sauce nice and light. I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and about 1/2 cup of extra mushrooms. I served it with steamed spinach and a garlic mashed potatoes recipe I found on this site. I doubled the sauce (but still only used 1 tablespoon of butter) so I would have enough to spoon over the chicken and the potatoes. I will *definitely* be making this one again. The sauce is pretty thin, so you'll need to add a little cornstarch/water to thicken it. If you feel there is too much of an "alcohol" taste, just add a couple tablespoons of chicken broth to dilute it. I always do. Also, try adding a little bacon grease to the sauce sometime. (although it will defeat the purpose of having a "light" chicken marsala recipe) It really gives it a smooth, almost creamier taste. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I cooked this for four last night and everyone loved it! I added in minced garlic and onions to the butter, and it gave it a good flavor. I doubled the marsala wine, and it made a perfect amount of extra gravy for the angel hair pasta. Delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
The 5 star rating on this recipe didn't lie!! It was wonderful! My friend who hates mushrooms, ate every single one. You definitely need to add more marsala wine as there was not enough gravy at all. I only made 2 chicken breasts with this recipe had increased marsala wine to 1 cup. We still ran low since it cooked down so much. I will add 2 cups next time. The recommendation to let it simmer for 30 minutes was perfect. If you don't the wine doesn't cook down. YUMMY! YUMMY! YUMMY! Served over angel hair pasta and used canned mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
LOVE this recipe. Even my husband, who is not a chicken eater normally, loves this recipe. I only have a few adjustments: I brown the chicken in onions and minced garlic, I double or even triple the amount of Marsala and more than double the amount of mushrooms (because I LOVE mushrooms). Other than that - this recipe is VERY tasty!! I've already made it three times. Thank you SO much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Moreno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
MAde this tonight for my family of 5, this was wonderful! Made it in no time,even with hungry babies at my feet. I made some changes do to other comments I has read. . I tripled the wine,and added 3 cups chicken broth. and at the end of cooking added some half and half to make it smooth and creamy(great touch!) and some cornstarch to thicken. I had left over sauce,from a whole box of angel hair pasta,perfect! I chopped,green oinions fresh mushrooms,and garlic and lightly suateed so not to cook to much, then added to the sauce. Made angel hair pasta,and cheesey garlic bread with it..PERFECT! FAST! EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I made this chicken for a party I was having for 60 people. Everyone thought it was wonderful! I had to add 1/2 c chicken broth to make enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States