Easier Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
thin sauce. i even added cornstarch. not a ton of flavor. will try a different recipe next time. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the marsala recipe I use all the time. I tweaked it a little bit to my liking. I cook the mushrooms in a separate pan because I found that they didn't cook all the way with the original recipe. When the chicken is done cooking I add the mushrooms to that pan so they can saute with the marsala sauce. I also add one cube of beef bullion right before I cover the dish and I use extra marsala wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was excellent. I followed other reviews and doubled the wine, added 1 c. broth, and fresh garlic to the sauce. I simmered the sauce for 30 min. to thicken. I also put Italian seasoning in the flour which added some extra flavor. Delicious. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I read several very helpful reviews before starting this recipe. My concerns were too much salt, and not enough sauce. I doubled the garlic with garlic powder instead of increasing the garlic salt. I also added a little grated Romano to coating(no benefit) Dble the Marsala but, kept losing volume cooking out the alcohol so I blended 1/4 to 1/2 cup water with powdered (plain) creamer, & added that to the sauce to increase volume and some creaminess. Double onions and mushrooms and removed the sauce from the pan. Cooked the breasts in the deglaze from the sauce. Still a little alcohol taste but, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I prefer a more 'crunchier' outside than this for chicken marsala, but it is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe with some tweaking, I am sure it would have been great as is but here is what I did... I added mustard powder and doubled the garlic to the chicken coating. Pan fried the chicken for a few minutes each side in just a bit of olive oil. Sauteed onions and mushrooms separately so they remained crisp. I did not have any marsala so I used sherry instead...I poured generously and let the alcohol evaporate, then added vegetable stock (not a cube but of the paste variety). After it simmered for 10 minutes or so and I was sure the chicken was cooked, I whisked in a couple teaspoons of flour and 1/4 cup or so of milk. Outstanding! Perfectly thick but not too creamy. Served over penne with salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was a great recipe and really easy to make. I took some liberties with the recipe by sauteeing the chicken with diced onion and minced garlic, adding more mushrooms, doubling the amount of marsala, adding a few splashes of chicken broth, and using cornstarch at the end to thicken up the sauce. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe. I did what others said and doubled the wine, and added some chicken broth. I added thickener to start, and I think I should have added that after instead. The flavor did not soak into the chicken as much as I would have liked, so I think i will marinate it next time. I also like this dish on the sweet side, so I added some brown sugar at the end of simmering. I had to simmer for 10 minutes longer. I think the chicken was just really thick. The chicken turned out juicy and tender. I also ended up adding a little more wine to the final sauce after it was thickened. After it sat for about 15 minutes the sauce was even better than before. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cfcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent! I added 2 cloves of garlic and doubled the Marsala wine and the mushrooms. Had to use cornstarch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. Did as another user reviewed and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of marsala. It came out creamy and wonderful. I would recommend purchasing quality marsala wine, do not use the "cooking wine" cheap bottled things. Using a quality wine from the actual wine section makes all the difference in the taste. Made buttered noodles with this and served it with a salad, it made a beautiful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States