Easier Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I prefer a more 'crunchier' outside than this for chicken marsala, but it is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe with some tweaking, I am sure it would have been great as is but here is what I did... I added mustard powder and doubled the garlic to the chicken coating. Pan fried the chicken for a few minutes each side in just a bit of olive oil. Sauteed onions and mushrooms separately so they remained crisp. I did not have any marsala so I used sherry instead...I poured generously and let the alcohol evaporate, then added vegetable stock (not a cube but of the paste variety). After it simmered for 10 minutes or so and I was sure the chicken was cooked, I whisked in a couple teaspoons of flour and 1/4 cup or so of milk. Outstanding! Perfectly thick but not too creamy. Served over penne with salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was a great recipe and really easy to make. I took some liberties with the recipe by sauteeing the chicken with diced onion and minced garlic, adding more mushrooms, doubling the amount of marsala, adding a few splashes of chicken broth, and using cornstarch at the end to thicken up the sauce. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe. I did what others said and doubled the wine, and added some chicken broth. I added thickener to start, and I think I should have added that after instead. The flavor did not soak into the chicken as much as I would have liked, so I think i will marinate it next time. I also like this dish on the sweet side, so I added some brown sugar at the end of simmering. I had to simmer for 10 minutes longer. I think the chicken was just really thick. The chicken turned out juicy and tender. I also ended up adding a little more wine to the final sauce after it was thickened. After it sat for about 15 minutes the sauce was even better than before. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cfcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent! I added 2 cloves of garlic and doubled the Marsala wine and the mushrooms. Had to use cornstarch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. Did as another user reviewed and added a can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of marsala. It came out creamy and wonderful. I would recommend purchasing quality marsala wine, do not use the "cooking wine" cheap bottled things. Using a quality wine from the actual wine section makes all the difference in the taste. Made buttered noodles with this and served it with a salad, it made a beautiful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I love Marsala, and was craving this dish, but had no Marsala wine in the house and was very unmotivated to go get some. So I used a bottle of sweet white wine someone had given us as a housewarming gift (we don't drink sweet wine, so it sat in the fridge for 2 months.) It turned out great! I also only used baby portobello mushrooms. They have a great texture, like really tender steak. Also added garlic, and like many others said, sauteed them with the mushrooms before adding everything else. I added about 2 TBS of Greek yogurt at the end to make it a but creamier, which worked wonderfully. Delicious over whole wheat pasta with a spinach salad! Felt like I was dining out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My favorite chicken marsala recipe and I don't even like mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is in my top 5 best recipes....My family loves it. This recipe is so easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
First time making this dish and with the help of this recipe it turned out beautifully! I served this chicken with thin spaghetti noodles and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grantsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States