Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Great, easy recipe - especially for a novice pie maker!! Mine, too, though ended up being very crumbly in the bowl - no ball shape here. I fixed that, though, by scraping all the crumbles into a ziploc bag and then forming it into a ball -- super results and little mess that way, too. Put the Ziploc in the freezer for about an hour and then rolled it out b/t sheets of wax paper like I remember Mom doing........makes the transfer to the Pie pan easy, too. Lots of little tips here - but I am an "ease" baker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Flaky and delicious! I used stick butter shortening...and after the shaking, ended up with about 15 varying sizes of shortening balls. I suppose I needed to keep the shortening in one clump rather than cut it up...I'll try it next time. I still had to use my hands to bring it all together, but that wasn't a problem...it was easy to make, easy to work with, and tasted wonderful! I used it with "Apple Pie by Grandma Ople" from this site and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
i used this mixing method with my favorite old crust recipe, was easy and great! i always hated to mix piecrust before... some who have had problems with it might try adding a BIT of water to help form balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Okay, maybe since this is my first homemade pie crust, I did something wrong, judging from all the good reviews. But I shook and I shook and it was still super-crumbly and I had to form a ball with my hands. I refrigerated it while I made my filling, but it was still too crumbly to roll. So I formed it into the pan with my hands. I was surprised that once it was baked, the pie crust was very yummy. It had a buttery-flavor, because I used butter flavored Crisco. Maybe I will give this one another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I've used this recipe three times now, the first time I had no experience making pie crusts whatsoever. This recipe is GREAT!!! After the crust is cooked it is so crumbly it seems to just melt in your mouth! I used this recipe with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie, that's also on this website, and it is an amazing combination! Although, at first, I too had problems with the crust being too crumbly, but I found out that all you have to do is mix in the Crisco (I use butter flavored Crisco as well) a bit and then shake shake SHAKE! If you don't shake it long or fast enough, for whatever reason, it won't turn out how it's supposed to. I actually get quite a workout when I shake mine. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Mai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This pie crust was very easy to make. I did not shake it like recipe stated because of all the other reviews i read about it not forming into a ball. I instead mixed it with my hands and did not have the problem. I put it in the freezer for maybe 20 minutes while mixing the glaze for my pie. I rolled it out for the latice cover to my apple pie. It turned out excellently!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
GREAT crust my husband loves it!! I used it with Grandma Opals apple pie from this site and he kept saying how it was the best pie he has ever had!! I am making again tonight for my chicken pot pies. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Pensel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was very nervous about trying this. I have only made one other pie crust and it was diasterous! This recipe was very easy and made a wonderful flaky crust! I did not separate it into two balls. I made a thick crust and it turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Use a larger sized Glad or Ziploc or Tupperware container instead of a bowl. If it isn't in one big ball, you need to shake more!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Simple, simple, simple! My lid wasn't quite tight enough, so I used a wooden spoon and my hands. Still, piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States