Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
finally a pie crust I can make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love this recipe. I used lard (I don't usually, but that's what I had on hand today) I thought it was so great!! I did have to add a little more flour and water, but it did turn into a ball as it said it would. I made it for the wonderful Apple Pie By Gramdma Ople. We haven't had it yet but it looks GREAT!! I highly recommend trying this pie crust and maybe add a little more water if it doesn't form a ball for you. I will use this recipe/method again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I've used this recipe three times now, the first time I had no experience making pie crusts whatsoever. This recipe is GREAT!!! After the crust is cooked it is so crumbly it seems to just melt in your mouth! I used this recipe with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie, that's also on this website, and it is an amazing combination! Although, at first, I too had problems with the crust being too crumbly, but I found out that all you have to do is mix in the Crisco (I use butter flavored Crisco as well) a bit and then shake shake SHAKE! If you don't shake it long or fast enough, for whatever reason, it won't turn out how it's supposed to. I actually get quite a workout when I shake mine. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Mai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
It was easy enough, but just didn't taste as good as I thought it might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Eventhough this recipe is "clean" it comes out horrable if it comes out at all. Will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gentry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Easy! Doesn't make enough for deep dish covered pie. Just be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
i used this mixing method with my favorite old crust recipe, was easy and great! i always hated to mix piecrust before... some who have had problems with it might try adding a BIT of water to help form balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
WHILE GOOD IN THEORY....I'VE MADE THIS RECIPE A FEW TIMES AND IT DOESN'T SEEM TO MATTER HOW I DO IT, IT JUST DOESN'T MIX UP THE WAY IT SHOULD. ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE HELPFUL, I'LL TRY ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Great, easy recipe - especially for a novice pie maker!! Mine, too, though ended up being very crumbly in the bowl - no ball shape here. I fixed that, though, by scraping all the crumbles into a ziploc bag and then forming it into a ball -- super results and little mess that way, too. Put the Ziploc in the freezer for about an hour and then rolled it out b/t sheets of wax paper like I remember Mom doing........makes the transfer to the Pie pan easy, too. Lots of little tips here - but I am an "ease" baker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States