Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love this recipe. I used lard (I don't usually, but that's what I had on hand today) I thought it was so great!! I did have to add a little more flour and water, but it did turn into a ball as it said it would. I made it for the wonderful Apple Pie By Gramdma Ople. We haven't had it yet but it looks GREAT!! I highly recommend trying this pie crust and maybe add a little more water if it doesn't form a ball for you. I will use this recipe/method again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This was a total surprise to me...I thought I had used every recipe and trick for pie crust "in the book"...I was all set to use my old "tried and true" if it didn't...But now I HAVE seen everything...This REALLY works ! ! ! KUDOS!!! It was so easy...the only mess is in a bowl. The resulting crust was tender and flaky...Wonderful in BOTH one and two crust pies, fruit and cream, Perfect for my Pecan Pie...I just kept shaking all evening...turned out 24 6-inch pies in one evening...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is the easiest pie crust I've ever made. I came out nice and flaky, with a minimum of effort. I will be useing this alot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I have been using this recipie since I was a kid. Now my kids love to shake it all up for me. Turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Flaky and delicious! I used stick butter shortening...and after the shaking, ended up with about 15 varying sizes of shortening balls. I suppose I needed to keep the shortening in one clump rather than cut it up...I'll try it next time. I still had to use my hands to bring it all together, but that wasn't a problem...it was easy to make, easy to work with, and tasted wonderful! I used it with "Apple Pie by Grandma Ople" from this site and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was very nervous about trying this. I have only made one other pie crust and it was diasterous! This recipe was very easy and made a wonderful flaky crust! I did not separate it into two balls. I made a thick crust and it turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Easy, Fun, and DELICIOUS!!! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.......I will use this crust whenever I make pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
i used this mixing method with my favorite old crust recipe, was easy and great! i always hated to mix piecrust before... some who have had problems with it might try adding a BIT of water to help form balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Easy! Doesn't make enough for deep dish covered pie. Just be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I've used this recipe three times now, the first time I had no experience making pie crusts whatsoever. This recipe is GREAT!!! After the crust is cooked it is so crumbly it seems to just melt in your mouth! I used this recipe with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie, that's also on this website, and it is an amazing combination! Although, at first, I too had problems with the crust being too crumbly, but I found out that all you have to do is mix in the Crisco (I use butter flavored Crisco as well) a bit and then shake shake SHAKE! If you don't shake it long or fast enough, for whatever reason, it won't turn out how it's supposed to. I actually get quite a workout when I shake mine. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Mai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States