Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
The shaking part in the bowl doesn't always work well but it has a great taste and it's easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Paredes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This was a total surprise to me...I thought I had used every recipe and trick for pie crust "in the book"...I was all set to use my old "tried and true" if it didn't...But now I HAVE seen everything...This REALLY works ! ! ! KUDOS!!! It was so easy...the only mess is in a bowl. The resulting crust was tender and flaky...Wonderful in BOTH one and two crust pies, fruit and cream, Perfect for my Pecan Pie...I just kept shaking all evening...turned out 24 6-inch pies in one evening...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is the easiest pie crust I've ever made. I came out nice and flaky, with a minimum of effort. I will be useing this alot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Mixing this by shaking did indeed work, and was amusing to boot! Rolling the dough out, however wasn't nearly as easy or amusing. Perhaps more time chilling would have helped. Karen in China
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I found this recipe easy but changed the cooling to about 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I have been using this recipie since I was a kid. Now my kids love to shake it all up for me. Turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Flaky and delicious! I used stick butter shortening...and after the shaking, ended up with about 15 varying sizes of shortening balls. I suppose I needed to keep the shortening in one clump rather than cut it up...I'll try it next time. I still had to use my hands to bring it all together, but that wasn't a problem...it was easy to make, easy to work with, and tasted wonderful! I used it with "Apple Pie by Grandma Ople" from this site and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was very nervous about trying this. I have only made one other pie crust and it was diasterous! This recipe was very easy and made a wonderful flaky crust! I did not separate it into two balls. I made a thick crust and it turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Okay, maybe since this is my first homemade pie crust, I did something wrong, judging from all the good reviews. But I shook and I shook and it was still super-crumbly and I had to form a ball with my hands. I refrigerated it while I made my filling, but it was still too crumbly to roll. So I formed it into the pan with my hands. I was surprised that once it was baked, the pie crust was very yummy. It had a buttery-flavor, because I used butter flavored Crisco. Maybe I will give this one another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Easy, Fun, and DELICIOUS!!! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.......I will use this crust whenever I make pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States