Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
WHILE GOOD IN THEORY....I'VE MADE THIS RECIPE A FEW TIMES AND IT DOESN'T SEEM TO MATTER HOW I DO IT, IT JUST DOESN'T MIX UP THE WAY IT SHOULD. ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE HELPFUL, I'LL TRY ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Great, easy recipe - especially for a novice pie maker!! Mine, too, though ended up being very crumbly in the bowl - no ball shape here. I fixed that, though, by scraping all the crumbles into a ziploc bag and then forming it into a ball -- super results and little mess that way, too. Put the Ziploc in the freezer for about an hour and then rolled it out b/t sheets of wax paper like I remember Mom doing........makes the transfer to the Pie pan easy, too. Lots of little tips here - but I am an "ease" baker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Easy, Fun, and DELICIOUS!!! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe.......I will use this crust whenever I make pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Okay, maybe since this is my first homemade pie crust, I did something wrong, judging from all the good reviews. But I shook and I shook and it was still super-crumbly and I had to form a ball with my hands. I refrigerated it while I made my filling, but it was still too crumbly to roll. So I formed it into the pan with my hands. I was surprised that once it was baked, the pie crust was very yummy. It had a buttery-flavor, because I used butter flavored Crisco. Maybe I will give this one another chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was very nervous about trying this. I have only made one other pie crust and it was diasterous! This recipe was very easy and made a wonderful flaky crust! I did not separate it into two balls. I made a thick crust and it turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Flaky and delicious! I used stick butter shortening...and after the shaking, ended up with about 15 varying sizes of shortening balls. I suppose I needed to keep the shortening in one clump rather than cut it up...I'll try it next time. I still had to use my hands to bring it all together, but that wasn't a problem...it was easy to make, easy to work with, and tasted wonderful! I used it with "Apple Pie by Grandma Ople" from this site and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I have been using this recipie since I was a kid. Now my kids love to shake it all up for me. Turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I found this recipe easy but changed the cooling to about 2 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Mixing this by shaking did indeed work, and was amusing to boot! Rolling the dough out, however wasn't nearly as easy or amusing. Perhaps more time chilling would have helped. Karen in China
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is the easiest pie crust I've ever made. I came out nice and flaky, with a minimum of effort. I will be useing this alot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States