Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
since i don't have a bowl with a tight lid, i put all ingredients in a large ziplock bag... yep i really did. and shook it up like crazy and it didn't ball up. some of it stuck to the sides. I put most of it on a piece of wax paper, scraped the rest off the sides of the plastic bag, took some loose flour and formed to balls. i wrapped them in wax paper and stuck them in the fridge while i made the filling. after baking, the crust was light and flakey. the zip lock bag method worked great for me! the only thing i would change is that i needed about 1/4 c of extra flour because the dough came out quite wet from the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
finally a pie crust I can make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love this recipe. I used lard (I don't usually, but that's what I had on hand today) I thought it was so great!! I did have to add a little more flour and water, but it did turn into a ball as it said it would. I made it for the wonderful Apple Pie By Gramdma Ople. We haven't had it yet but it looks GREAT!! I highly recommend trying this pie crust and maybe add a little more water if it doesn't form a ball for you. I will use this recipe/method again!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I've used this recipe three times now, the first time I had no experience making pie crusts whatsoever. This recipe is GREAT!!! After the crust is cooked it is so crumbly it seems to just melt in your mouth! I used this recipe with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie, that's also on this website, and it is an amazing combination! Although, at first, I too had problems with the crust being too crumbly, but I found out that all you have to do is mix in the Crisco (I use butter flavored Crisco as well) a bit and then shake shake SHAKE! If you don't shake it long or fast enough, for whatever reason, it won't turn out how it's supposed to. I actually get quite a workout when I shake mine. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-Mai

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
It was easy enough, but just didn't taste as good as I thought it might.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Eventhough this recipe is "clean" it comes out horrable if it comes out at all. Will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gentry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Easy! Doesn't make enough for deep dish covered pie. Just be aware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
i used this mixing method with my favorite old crust recipe, was easy and great! i always hated to mix piecrust before... some who have had problems with it might try adding a BIT of water to help form balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
WHILE GOOD IN THEORY....I'VE MADE THIS RECIPE A FEW TIMES AND IT DOESN'T SEEM TO MATTER HOW I DO IT, IT JUST DOESN'T MIX UP THE WAY IT SHOULD. ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE HELPFUL, I'LL TRY ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States