Earthquake Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
As another user mentioned, i decided to try this crust with grandma ople's apple pie recipe. It was absolutely amazing! Though i didn't get a ball after shaking the bowl for about a minute, i ended it by hand without a problem. Totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I just finished shaking the bowl and voila!!! I did have to shape it into the ball but this is the only way I will make pie crust from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I was skeptical about this recipe, it sounded far to simple. I tried it tonight, it mixed up perfectly! I put it in the freezer while I was preparing the apple pie filling. After tasting the pie, I literally threw out all my other pie crust recipes! Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Good tender, flaky crust. I had a little difficulty in getting it to form a ball, and I didn't make much time to chill it so it was a little sticky through the rolling, but I stuck with it. So glad I did! The end result in my cherry pie was fantastic, flaky and tender, and melts in your mouth. Well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This pie crust was very easy to make. I did not shake it like recipe stated because of all the other reviews i read about it not forming into a ball. I instead mixed it with my hands and did not have the problem. I put it in the freezer for maybe 20 minutes while mixing the glaze for my pie. I rolled it out for the latice cover to my apple pie. It turned out excellently!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This pie crust tasted good but the method of shaking was a bit of a pain. I ended up mixing it with a fork, which is why I rated it lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Use a larger sized Glad or Ziploc or Tupperware container instead of a bowl. If it isn't in one big ball, you need to shake more!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
GREAT crust my husband loves it!! I used it with Grandma Opals apple pie from this site and he kept saying how it was the best pie he has ever had!! I am making again tonight for my chicken pot pies. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI PENSEL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made this today and it was soooo good!!! I used a clear bowl so I could see what was going on!! At first it was balling up but still a lot of flour rolling around. I looked at the recipe again and realized I did not put the water in!! After I put the water in, I proceed to shake the ball and it worked!!! I used this crust with Gramma Opels Apple Pie recipe from this site. My husband said "this is the best one yet"!!! I did use the butter flavored shortening as suggested by others and the crust turned out wonderful and so easy to make with no mess!! Thank you for sharing your recipe Esther!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Simple, simple, simple! My lid wasn't quite tight enough, so I used a wooden spoon and my hands. Still, piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States