Earthquake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by GarnetRose
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Mine came out fantastic. I used shortening as the recipe called for and I didn't have the crumble issue that others seemed to. I used devil's food cake mix as well. Mine are pretty moist, but I didn't let them get overly crackly. They almost taste like brownies... my 5 year old is in love with them as is my 23 year old cousin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
These were great! I made mine with butter pecan cake mix ( my favorite!) and they were delicious...a great way to make/serve 'cake'. I topped mine with a dollop of buttercream icing and a sugared pecan to dress them up and make them more of a dessert. I do suggest that you watch them very closely while baking! For me, 9min was the magic time. At 8min they were a little under done and flattened out as they cooled and at 10min the bottoms burnt, so I scraped of the bottom and they still tasted fine. Also, the recipe didn't say to grease the pan and my first batch stuck to the bottom, so I suggest you lightly spray your sheet with baking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Good but not great. They are very easy which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I rated it a 4 mostly because it is very versatile and quick to throw together but also tastes good. I wouldn't say its an astounding experience on your tongue but it is still good. Could do without the powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! I have made it with Devil's Food cake, Red Velvet cake, and Spice cake... great with each! WARNING: disappear quickly so make extras for yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Summer has just arrived and being the mother of 5 children the oldest being 14 were always doing something. These cookies were very helpful because we could make the batter and go to the pool while it chilled for an hour. When we returned we could bake the cookies and it only takes 10 minutes so the kids and I could eat them as a snack before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
very yummy but it was hard to get the right cook time since the recipe did not say how much batter to use per cookie... most of mine turned crunchy but i think they're supposed to be soft.... still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Unbelievably easy. I used a spice cake mix and added more cinnamon, cloves and ginger. Thanks to the person who mentioned beating eggs and shortening before stirring cake mix in with a fork. I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Wow! These are fantastic. I used the pkg rainbow cake mix for this and added a bag of smarties. Excellent cookies to make for a bakesale!! Will definately do these again. I made another batch with the chocolate cake mix and threw in chocolate chips and didn't bother rolling them in icing sugar...they look good on their own. Very impressive and easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
amazing! used butter and white cake mix=delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States