Earthquake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
MADE THESE WITH THREE DIFFERENT CAKE MIXES AND TOOK TO GRADUATION PARTY. THEY WENT FASTER THAN ANYTHING ELSE ON SWEETS TABLE. THESE WILL BE MADE AGAIN AND AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista A.
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I used yellow cake mix and margarin instead of shortening, and my brother and I thought they were absolutely amazing. I can't wait to try a different type of mix! There are so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
i absolutely LOVE this recipe for its ease and its versatility. I've even used butter instead of shortening, and it came out great! i've done it with strawberry cake mix for strawberry cookies. for the chocolate ones, i've even placed some halved andes mints on the top, let it melt, and spread it around for chocolate mint cookies. it's the best! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are easy. I used a chocolate cake mix and butter instead of shortening. They came out picture perfect. The taste is kind of bland. Maybe some chocolate chips would jazz them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I have to give these a 5 for ease of prep, versatility of recipe, few ingredients, presentation, and taste! I used a D.H. devil's food mix, and perhaps it was that particular mix, but it tasted just like I made these with Hershey cocoa powder. There was not one hint of cake mix taste that sometimes can occur with yellow and white mixes. They present so well with the cracked tops. The dough is stiff so thanks for the headsup on not mixing with a mixer. I just creamed my shortening and beat in eggs and water with electric mixer then added mix by hand. The dough is stiff enough that it is very easy to work with especially if using a cookie scoop; just scoop them into the powdered sugar and roll them around; no messy fingers. I didn't even bother to chill the dough; if pressed for time I don't think it needs to be. The cracked top looks just like a blacktop highway that has crumbled from an earthquake. Perhaps that is why they are called this? I'd not hesitate to put these on a christmas cookie tray they are just that attractive and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I used butter pecan cake mix in this easy, easy recipe and it was great. Makes a very chewy cookie. I can't wait to try it with chocolate mix! There are better homemade cookies, but not this easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Very simple and quick. My brother & sister ate them right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This recipe was extremely easy and the cookies are good too. I used regular yellow cake mix, I wanted to use sprinkles but had none in the house and the cookies still came out tasty!! Very simple, definitely try this recipe. Next time I might try cinnamon cake mix!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
These cookies were just what I was looking for. An easy out of the box cookie crave! they were perfectly moist and the powder sugar adds an extra nice touch. This is definetly a recipe to keep! Thanks Topoac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Great cookies! I preheated my oven (I assumed I was supposed to) and didn't have any problems. The batter is VERY thick so definitely use only a spoon to mix it, or be ready to scrap your beaters. Bake them until the sugar has almost disappeared and they'll be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States