Earthquake Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe but needed a few tweaks. You definitely have to melt the butter and soften the cream cheese before combining. I also cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups - it was plenty sweet. I found for ease & a prettier cake it's best to use a bundt pan. When adding the cream cheese mixture I dropped it in large spoonfuls over the chocolate cake batter. I also upped the baking time to around 60 mins. It got rave reviews - my uncle still bakes the cake once a month! I recently made a variation of the cake using a spice cake recipe, minus the coconut, adding a small chopped apple seasoned with cinnamon & a pinch of nutmeg to the cream cheese filling and a sugar glaze drizzled over the top. Perfect for the fall weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Two warnings on this superb cake: 1. Keep cream cheese filling about 1" away from the base cake. Use a foil lined cookie sheet under the cake pan. I did not, it overflowed and the house filled with smoke. Now I have to clean the oven! 2. Share this cake with others. My husband and I ate it all by ourselves, then he said, "This cake is TOO good to make." You'll also need to add another 15-20 minutes to the cook time. I have also made another cake just like this but with a yellow cake mix, no pecans or coconut and the cream cheese mixture swirled into the cake. It is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I have a huge tip for ya'll! I have been making this cake for many years around the holidays. My aunt gave me the recipe, then I don't know what happened to it and I ended up on here and this is the one that is closest. Make no mistake - it matters which German Chocolate box cake you start with. I have always liked the more moist ones so that is what I looked for before. Now after buying DH regular moist and DH Decadence there is no comparison. The DH Decadence blows it out of the water! It makes such a difference that I will not make it without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wow, this cake is soooo good! I melted my butter and that seemed to work okay to get the cream cheese mixture spread over the top. I also had to cook it extra, about another 10 minutes to get it done in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Delicious...made it with chocolate chips instead of the pecans and it tasted just wonderful. Have a question. Could it be made as cupcakes? And if so, how long to bake? Oh, I did bake the 9 x 13 for 50 minutes and that was just right. Otherwise followed all instructions as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this recipe but I tweaked it a little. I added chocolate chips on the bottom and I make a homemade chocolate cake instead of a cake mix. The topping I only put 1 cup of powdered sugar, I thought the cake was sweet enough. I also baked the cake for 50 minutes. The only thing different I would do is drop the topping by spoonfuls to the top instead of pouring it on. It was very good and my husband went for a second piece. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I give the recipe three stars but the cake five stars. I should have read the reviews before using this particular recipe. I make this cake often and instead of looking for mine I went to allrecipes.com because it's faster. Well the flaw in this recipe is the baking time, it needs to bake more than thirty minutes. So I don't know what I am going to cut into tomorrow when I take it to work! It dropped after I took it out of the oven so I can tell its under baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very Easy to make! Everyone loved! Perfect the way the recipe is. But for an added touch I frosted it with a can of the coconut frosting you use for german choc. cake. Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
The filling was so thick, there is no way you can POUR it over the cake, like the directions say. Had to bake it 15 min more to get it done. Did not appear as an Earthquake cake, but did taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States