Earthquake Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I have a huge tip for ya'll! I have been making this cake for many years around the holidays. My aunt gave me the recipe, then I don't know what happened to it and I ended up on here and this is the one that is closest. Make no mistake - it matters which German Chocolate box cake you start with. I have always liked the more moist ones so that is what I looked for before. Now after buying DH regular moist and DH Decadence there is no comparison. The DH Decadence blows it out of the water! It makes such a difference that I will not make it without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wow, this cake is soooo good! I melted my butter and that seemed to work okay to get the cream cheese mixture spread over the top. I also had to cook it extra, about another 10 minutes to get it done in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Delicious...made it with chocolate chips instead of the pecans and it tasted just wonderful. Have a question. Could it be made as cupcakes? And if so, how long to bake? Oh, I did bake the 9 x 13 for 50 minutes and that was just right. Otherwise followed all instructions as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this recipe but I tweaked it a little. I added chocolate chips on the bottom and I make a homemade chocolate cake instead of a cake mix. The topping I only put 1 cup of powdered sugar, I thought the cake was sweet enough. I also baked the cake for 50 minutes. The only thing different I would do is drop the topping by spoonfuls to the top instead of pouring it on. It was very good and my husband went for a second piece. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I give the recipe three stars but the cake five stars. I should have read the reviews before using this particular recipe. I make this cake often and instead of looking for mine I went to allrecipes.com because it's faster. Well the flaw in this recipe is the baking time, it needs to bake more than thirty minutes. So I don't know what I am going to cut into tomorrow when I take it to work! It dropped after I took it out of the oven so I can tell its under baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very Easy to make! Everyone loved! Perfect the way the recipe is. But for an added touch I frosted it with a can of the coconut frosting you use for german choc. cake. Yumo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
The filling was so thick, there is no way you can POUR it over the cake, like the directions say. Had to bake it 15 min more to get it done. Did not appear as an Earthquake cake, but did taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I reall love this cake my aunt makes the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Amazing! I made this for dessert for a family dinner and it was a hit with EVERYONE there. You must give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States