Earthquake Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Help!! I tried this recipe and it turned out a mess. It tasted great but looked awful. I thought I had followed the recipe carefully but when I reread the recipe I had accidently used a German Choc w/pudding. Would this be why it looked so awful?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I LOVE this cake!! Every time I make it, I use a different flavor of chocolate cake and it's just keeps getting better and better!! Everyone that tries it LOVES it. I even won a cake bake-off at my church with it!! YAY! I could eat the whole cake myself :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yummy, tasty cake very moist, liked the icing too. The only change I made was to add one egg to the cream cheese mixture because I was worried the cake would be to mushy without it. Glad I did cake held up well and was able to cut it into small squares. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev511
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
MMMM... chocolate-y and fairly easy too! With ingredients like choc cake, cream cheese, walnuts, coconut, chocolate/cola glaze... c'mon... what it NOT to like? Not the prettiest thing in the pan, but interesting looking... and the bake time was correct for me, FYI. Everyone that tried this cake liked it too! I am sure I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The very best cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clodani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
As written, I give this recipe four stars. The first time I made it I followed the recipe almost exactly - I used German Chocolate cake mix and followed other reviews, adding 3 cups of powdered sugar, pecans instead of walnuts, and baking for an hour. I thought it was just ok - I found it a bit dry. My husband loved it though, so I decided to try again. The second time it came out phenomenal! This time, I used Betty Crocker triple chocolate fudge cake mix and instead of 3 cups of powdered sugar in the frosting, I further reduced the quantity to 2 cups. I also skipped the coconut. I used walnuts as written. I made the cake in a bunt pan and was careful to spread the frosting on the top of the batter, but without letting the frosting to get too close to the edge. The second time around, I softened the cream cheese too. The cream cheese melted into the cake, leaving a delicious ribbon of cream cheese goodness at the bottom. It did not come out all bubbly like some of the pictures. It actually looked very nice. I definitely recommend using a bundt pan instead of a 13 x 9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Rich and delicious. I too had to bake it about 10 minutes longer. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Very rich and tasty, I left out the coconut in bottom of pan. I did add chocolate and peanut butter chips to the cake batter. Everyone really liked it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I made this for my father-in-law's b-day and it was a hit. It was then requested for my husband's grandmother's birthday the following week. I did bake it a little longer than stated, just until the toothpick came out clean-- an extra 10-15 mins. Also this cake is somehow even more delicious the next day. Y*U*M*M*Y!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States