Early Morning Oven Roasted New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This dish deserves 2 separate scores - 1 score when I cooked it following directions and another when I made some additions. Following directions - it scores a 3. Good, but not great. However, with several additions it gets a solid 5! Before adding the potatoes to the butter, I added onions, garlic and some red pepper and cooked until soft. Then I added the potatoes & rosemary, salt & pepper then cooked for about 10 minutes on the stove before placing in the oven. At the end of the baking time, I broiled them for a few minutes so they were nice and crispy. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
A really great recipe. I love how the potatoes are begun and finished in about half an hour, with no pre-boiling required. I used red potatoes and they turned out great. I also heated the pan in the oven while I was preparing the potatoes, and then dumped them into the hot pan - it makes them crisp all over and prevents sticking. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Excellent recipe! Good food doesn't have to be complicated. This recipe is simplicity at its finest. (Oil?... There IS no oil called for in this recipe. Baking pan DOES imply shallow pan. Too many recipes fail because they are not followed correctly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Delicious! I did half olive oil/half butter and I roasted for twice the amount of time, with frequent stirring, because I love my potatoes crispy. Served them in Caesar Chicken Potato Salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
These poor potatoes were'nt just "swimming" in oil- they were *drowning*! The recipe doesn't mention that you need to put these in a SHALLOW baking pan or on a cookie sheet. Otherwise they just don't turn that "golden brown" in the time allotted. I ended up having to pour off all the oil, transfer them to a cookie sheet, and put them under the broiler for a few minutes in order to get them to brown. The rosemary flavor was nice. Way, way too oily for my taste, but if you like oily things you might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Navy_Mommy
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
These potatoes are good, but I am not sure the butter added enough flavor to justify the added fat the butter supplies. I made my potatoes in a stone ware roasting pan. I baked 20 minutes at 350 and 10 minutes at 450 due to the roast I cooked. The potatoes did crisp nicely. I don't know if this was because of the stoneware or the butter though. this was the first time I used a stoneware pan to make potatoes. I think I will continue to make with olive oil as I feel this is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
These were GREAT! ~ I added (sorry...I know people hate this, BUT ~ green bell (needed to use them up), garlic, diced onions (which I added in while melting the butter) AND some bacon bits (again, needed to use up, and Italian Seasoning. They were very easy, quick and yummy!! ~ (Many recipes wanted me to boil the potatoes, etc....might as well make MASHED if I'm going to do THAT) ha ha ~ Anyway , this recipe was just what I was looking for as I get sooooo tired of mashed potatoes, twice baked, etc., etc....(however that COWBOY MASHED POTATOES looks interesting) :) Thanks a bunch for just the recipe/idea I was looking for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Very tasty lunch side dish! I used parsley instead of rosemary, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great flavor and crispy on the outside. I used fresh rosemary the first time and dry the second. Fresh rosemary is better, but the dry works well when you grind it up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Easy and delicious. I used olive oil rather than butter, and just enough to coat the potatoes, which I left unpeeled. I liked the clean, fresh taste of just salt and pepper with a bit of fresh rosemary, which I also used "to taste." Don't know how you could go wrong on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States