Early Morning Oven Roasted New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
These poor potatoes were'nt just "swimming" in oil- they were *drowning*! The recipe doesn't mention that you need to put these in a SHALLOW baking pan or on a cookie sheet. Otherwise they just don't turn that "golden brown" in the time allotted. I ended up having to pour off all the oil, transfer them to a cookie sheet, and put them under the broiler for a few minutes in order to get them to brown. The rosemary flavor was nice. Way, way too oily for my taste, but if you like oily things you might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Kudos to someone who really appreciates the unique taste of baby new potatoes....must be an Irish man at heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is an EXCELLENT way to prepare new potatoes... YUM! My whole family was wishing for more once they were gone. I did add some garlic salt to the butter mix for added flavor. I could eat these every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
VERY Yummy!!! The amount of butter for 1 1/2 lbs of potatoes was perfect. It just barely covered my potatoes, which was perfect. They were great alone, but even better with some shredded cheese on top (I used Monteray Jack, fresh Parmesan, Romano and Asiago. Would have been great with Raclette also). Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Excellent recipe! Good food doesn't have to be complicated. This recipe is simplicity at its finest. (Oil?... There IS no oil called for in this recipe. Baking pan DOES imply shallow pan. Too many recipes fail because they are not followed correctly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Very tasty lunch side dish! I used parsley instead of rosemary, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great flavor and crispy on the outside. I used fresh rosemary the first time and dry the second. Fresh rosemary is better, but the dry works well when you grind it up first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I've been looking for a roasted rosemary potato dish and this is not it. It's not that it's bad but it's not that great either. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I replaced the butter with olive oil and added lemon pepper to the mix...it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These potatoes came out great! The cooking time was perfect as was the butter amount. Make sure you turn the potatoes for even crisping. This recipe gave me just the result I had imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States