Early American Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Oh, this is one great recipe!! I totally agree with another reviewer: Use spiced rum!!! It makes such a difference! I'm an egg nog junkie. I make this all year round. And thicker IS better. This is extremely refreshing when it's hot -- and do not be misery about the ice cream. The richer, the better. Also, I have a gelato machine -- and this egg nog is heavenly when it's frozen!! I urge any egg nog lover not to reserve this recipe just for Yule. Make it year-round, and no one will criticize you. (I served this during a great Fourth of July BBQ party, and this was the first beverage that disappeared. I was ordered that next year, I'd better make a triple batch or else!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Is it weird that I feel patriotic drinking this? And the amount of alcohol in the recipe really says something about our founding fathers. Anyway, awesome concoction! Instead of using 2 one-gallon milk jugs I let my batch brew in a large stock pot. It was a little harder to shake, but it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
very yummy, good for mixing with rum and brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This eggnog was an incredible hit at our christmas party. I made it with raw cream and raw milk, and the result was irresistable... even lactose intolerant people said they had no problems with this eggnog. It tasted like Bailey's Irish Cream... only better! Much better! It is great as soon as you make it, but it gets smoother the longer you allow it to sit. I made more right away for just my husband and I. Merry Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very nice eggnog. Anyone who had a bad batch failed in sanitary pracictices in the kitchen. Those concerned with Salmonella would do well to watch the Science Friday test of Rockefeller University Eggnog test. They showed that if their batch were mellowed for over 3 weeks it was bacteria free, even though they had added Salmonella to the egge at the start of the experiment, longer aging could be the key to good health as well as good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I had to make an extra batch because my friends loved it so much. I now live in England where, believe it or not, they are not as accustomed to eggnog as Americans. They thought it was amazing!!! And guess what, none of the more than 3 dozen people who enjoyed it with me got sick in any way whatsoever! We now live in a fear driven society, and so some of us therefore miss out on so much great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I have made this twice and it is delicious. You MUST wait the 10 days for it to mellow and it is still "stiff" but tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this last Christmas and just finished mixing up another batch. It is EXCELLENT! It's going to be difficult waiting 10 days (ok I won't be able to wait that long). It is so smooth and delicious. So very happy to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My first time ever making egg nogg. Made it for my very first holiday party and will continue to make it for years to come. Used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. I got so many great comments and the batch was perfect for about 40 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Nice and thick - and pretty potent! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States