Early American Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I haven't tried this recipe either, but I didn't think it was fair for someone to leave a 1 star review when they didn't try it, just because the recipe calls for raw eggs. The fact is, the chance of getting salmonella from eating raw eggs is 1 in 30,000. And actually, in a healthy human body, salmonella can't do any harm. Most of us have some small amount of salmonella introduced into our systems all the time. In a healthy body the salmonella is controlled and killed by healthy intestinal flora in the gut. It's a shame people don't get their facts straight before posting a review of an untried recipe, leaving 1 star and ruining the overall rating. Happy Holidays (and try not to drink 30,000 eggs-worth of eggnog)!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is the best eggnog I have ever tasted. It really does need to age the full 10 days. I had made some and sent some with my husband to his New Years Eve party for work the eggnog was at 7 days, it was good but at 10 days it was great!!! I already have set the date to make it next year for both Christmas and New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Save yourself some time and just make a double batch to begin with. Put 1/2 out for guests; hide the other 1/2 for yourself. When I offered this to my guests on Christmas Eve, the whole batch disappeared before I even had dinner on the table. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Do not sample while making. My husband had to take the bowl away from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This eggnog was an incredible hit at our christmas party. I made it with raw cream and raw milk, and the result was irresistable... even lactose intolerant people said they had no problems with this eggnog. It tasted like Bailey's Irish Cream... only better! Much better! It is great as soon as you make it, but it gets smoother the longer you allow it to sit. I made more right away for just my husband and I. Merry Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I have made this twice and it is delicious. You MUST wait the 10 days for it to mellow and it is still "stiff" but tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My first time ever making egg nogg. Made it for my very first holiday party and will continue to make it for years to come. Used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. I got so many great comments and the batch was perfect for about 40 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I had to make an extra batch because my friends loved it so much. I now live in England where, believe it or not, they are not as accustomed to eggnog as Americans. They thought it was amazing!!! And guess what, none of the more than 3 dozen people who enjoyed it with me got sick in any way whatsoever! We now live in a fear driven society, and so some of us therefore miss out on so much great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very nice eggnog. Anyone who had a bad batch failed in sanitary pracictices in the kitchen. Those concerned with Salmonella would do well to watch the Science Friday test of Rockefeller University Eggnog test. They showed that if their batch were mellowed for over 3 weeks it was bacteria free, even though they had added Salmonella to the egge at the start of the experiment, longer aging could be the key to good health as well as good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Oh, this is one great recipe!! I totally agree with another reviewer: Use spiced rum!!! It makes such a difference! I'm an egg nog junkie. I make this all year round. And thicker IS better. This is extremely refreshing when it's hot -- and do not be misery about the ice cream. The richer, the better. Also, I have a gelato machine -- and this egg nog is heavenly when it's frozen!! I urge any egg nog lover not to reserve this recipe just for Yule. Make it year-round, and no one will criticize you. (I served this during a great Fourth of July BBQ party, and this was the first beverage that disappeared. I was ordered that next year, I'd better make a triple batch or else!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States