Early American Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Nice and thick - and pretty potent! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My first time ever making egg nogg. Made it for my very first holiday party and will continue to make it for years to come. Used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. I got so many great comments and the batch was perfect for about 40 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is awesome. I had to make an extra batch because my friends loved it so much. I now live in England where, believe it or not, they are not as accustomed to eggnog as Americans. They thought it was amazing!!! And guess what, none of the more than 3 dozen people who enjoyed it with me got sick in any way whatsoever! We now live in a fear driven society, and so some of us therefore miss out on so much great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
very yummy, good for mixing with rum and brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Is it weird that I feel patriotic drinking this? And the amount of alcohol in the recipe really says something about our founding fathers. Anyway, awesome concoction! Instead of using 2 one-gallon milk jugs I let my batch brew in a large stock pot. It was a little harder to shake, but it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
We followed the recipe exactly, but what came out of the fridge for our party smelled of rotten egg and was horrendously unpalatable. I'll not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Do not sample while making. My husband had to take the bowl away from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Save yourself some time and just make a double batch to begin with. Put 1/2 out for guests; hide the other 1/2 for yourself. When I offered this to my guests on Christmas Eve, the whole batch disappeared before I even had dinner on the table. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I haven't tried this recipe either, but I didn't think it was fair for someone to leave a 1 star review when they didn't try it, just because the recipe calls for raw eggs. The fact is, the chance of getting salmonella from eating raw eggs is 1 in 30,000. And actually, in a healthy human body, salmonella can't do any harm. Most of us have some small amount of salmonella introduced into our systems all the time. In a healthy body the salmonella is controlled and killed by healthy intestinal flora in the gut. It's a shame people don't get their facts straight before posting a review of an untried recipe, leaving 1 star and ruining the overall rating. Happy Holidays (and try not to drink 30,000 eggs-worth of eggnog)!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMSGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I just made this today after reading many different recipes over the past week. It was a joy to make and the little test taste I took was good, I will update after Christmas (2 weeks) when we drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States