Early American Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I did not follow this exact recipe but it is identical, except for the alcohol types, to our family recipe that I learned from my grandfather. I tend to like rum and/or brandy but I have never used the sherry and do not care for whiskey as much. The effect of the curing, if you put the alcohols in, is that after 5 days the bacteria that might have existed have been killed and over time the alcohol cooks the egg and dairy proteins, changing them into a smooth, thick and frothy (from all the beating) indulgence. I like to let mine cure with a little cinnamon, fresh nutmeg, and a pinch of cloves actually mixed in then top with a sprinkle of fresh ground nutmeg when served. I have seen other recipes where it is cured with cinnamon stick, vanilla bean and a little fresh ground nutmeg. The cinnamon stick and vanilla bean can then be easily removed when serving having already imparted their flavors. We have broken open jars of cured eggnog a couple months after the holidays to find them wonderful treats but have never managed to be able to save them longer than that as it is just too good to leave alone. Even with all the alcohol in it, I imagine that something could go wrong during the curing process—though it never has for me so far—and if you open a jar of cured eggnog that seems off or has a bad smell then it is wise to not partake of that batch. With canning, pickling, and curing food products you should always be aware of the possibility that the process can go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious, I mean delicious! I cut the alcohol in half because i'm not a drinker, but it was smooth like a milk-shake. Never-liked egg-nog until i drank this. Tastes nothing like the store brand. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I have not tried this recipe but have a VERY similiar recipe that has been passed down from generations. I'm sworn to never let it out of the family. Mine doesn't have wine in it though and it's made in a very large batch. (think 1 fifth each of the rum, bourbon and brandy). We mix it in a cooler using whisks attached to power drills. We mix the ice cream as part of the recipe too. Now some hints to help with this: Definitely age this! We shoot for 3 weeks but usually it disappears before then. Whisk everything until it's very froathy. That will thicken it up some (why we use power tools). Shake it often. I'm thinking maybe that's why the one person said it smelled like rotten eggs. I have people that HATE eggnog love my recipe so they should love this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Was the hit of the party! It is worth the work and time. Do not pass this recipe up. Excellent drink, AKBMEIER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Smooth flavors; the liquors seem to quite disappear in all that luscious cream and milk, and except for the whiff of brandy and sherry (the two scents most discernible to me), one might be lead to believe that there was no alcohol at all. If anything, this eggnog is a tad too milky for me, hence the 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very nice eggnog. Anyone who had a bad batch failed in sanitary pracictices in the kitchen. Those concerned with Salmonella would do well to watch the Science Friday test of Rockefeller University Eggnog test. They showed that if their batch were mellowed for over 3 weeks it was bacteria free, even though they had added Salmonella to the egge at the start of the experiment, longer aging could be the key to good health as well as good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Oh, this is one great recipe!! I totally agree with another reviewer: Use spiced rum!!! It makes such a difference! I'm an egg nog junkie. I make this all year round. And thicker IS better. This is extremely refreshing when it's hot -- and do not be misery about the ice cream. The richer, the better. Also, I have a gelato machine -- and this egg nog is heavenly when it's frozen!! I urge any egg nog lover not to reserve this recipe just for Yule. Make it year-round, and no one will criticize you. (I served this during a great Fourth of July BBQ party, and this was the first beverage that disappeared. I was ordered that next year, I'd better make a triple batch or else!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Borderbumble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this last Christmas and just finished mixing up another batch. It is EXCELLENT! It's going to be difficult waiting 10 days (ok I won't be able to wait that long). It is so smooth and delicious. So very happy to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I have made this twice and it is delicious. You MUST wait the 10 days for it to mellow and it is still "stiff" but tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This eggnog was an incredible hit at our christmas party. I made it with raw cream and raw milk, and the result was irresistable... even lactose intolerant people said they had no problems with this eggnog. It tasted like Bailey's Irish Cream... only better! Much better! It is great as soon as you make it, but it gets smoother the longer you allow it to sit. I made more right away for just my husband and I. Merry Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States