ECU Tailgate Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Wow! I had a pot luck Super Bowl party at my house, and made these wings. They were by far the best dish in our spread. I made 8lbs. and they were gone before the coin flip. This is recipe for the front of the cook book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Fitzgerald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
i like this recipe, awesome. instead of wings i use chicken breast, and bake them together with the marinate, it cooks so well & juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Made this with drumsticks. Kids and adults both loved it. I'll make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great in the crock pot! Go Pirates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I found this recipe on AllRecipes.com and have used it for tailgating ever since. Now cooking these wigs for Super Bowl. I change nothing and they are the best. Everyone asks for the recipe and they are the first thing folks go for. The flavor is mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDILASSITER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I tried this for my brother and sister in law's family this weekend and everyone loved it! The marinade was easy and very flavorful. We used it on chicken legs the 13 year old ate 4 legs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe is simply superb! I did make a few changes, but 1) I don't think they are necessary and they won't suit all people, and 2) One of the changes was due to laziness and the marinade would have been better, not worse, if I had followed instructions. In other words, I give 5 stars for the recipe *as written* despite my changes. First, I decided to bake the wings rather than grill them since it's winter and I don't have a grill. I lined a baking sheet with foil and cooking spray and baked the wings at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Second, I got lazy and used dry ginger instead of fresh (big mistake). Third, after tasting the marinade, it seemed a little bland, so after laying the wings out on the baking sheet, I sprinkled them with a little black pepper and cayenne pepper (actually Penzeys' Black and Red seasoning). I also used less sugar. I'm glad I made both of those changes. I happen to really like strong flavors, so in the future, I plan to replace the water with increased amounts of the liquid ingredients. The best part about these wings was that even though I baked them in the oven, they still came out extremely tender AND crispy without having to use the broiler. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very good - I used brown sugar and added two cloves of garlic, grated. I also used a bit less Worcestershire - maybe 2 tablespoons. Baked these in a foil-lined baking dish at 425 degrees for about 35 minutes, turning occasionally. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I cut back the water to a half cup. I also added some minced garlic. This works well on de-skinned chicken legs, for those of you who don't make wings. (My husband does....but he's partial to Frank's Hot Sauce wings.) Very nice. This would go well with Sesame Noodles from this site. I didn't think of that until after I made the No-Fuss Potato Salad. Anyway, good recipe. I'd make this again, only next time I'd use brown sugar for a sweet taste but only deeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Good sauce, a little different from the same ol same ol. Will use again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Buffalo Wings

Learn how to make grilled Buffalo Wings and a blue cheese dipping sauce.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States