EAGLE BRAND® Frozen Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband's birthday and it turned out great. I have made the other peanut butter pie recipe with confectioner's sugar and cool whip and this is much better IMO. I made a couple of modifications on this recipe. I did not make the crispy rice crust and used a prepared Oreo pie shell instead which worked perfectly with this recipe. I sprinkled Heath baking bits on top. I also reduced the whipped cream to approx. 3/4 cup to make a denser pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Well im in 7th grade and i made this for my math class party and evryone loved it its great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I don't reccomend the crust...I would go for a pre-baked ready pie crust for this. Mine got chewy and it was hard to even out in the pie pan. Also, I think there was an error in the recipe. I think the amounts of Vanilla and Lemon juice should be switched. Way too much lemon and not enough Vanilla to me. Not sure if I would try this one again with so many more different recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is by far the best peanut butter pie I have ever had!!! I have had it every year for my birthday for the past 15 years or so. It can not be beat. I have tried other peanut butter pies in the past and they do not even come close to the creamy deliciousness of this pie. If you do not use this recipe, do not even bother to make peanut butter pie. The rice crispy crust is very good, but if you have leftovers it gets soggy so I would recommend you use a chocolate graham cracker crust or Oreo crust. It is just as good. The filling is so smooth and luscious. It is just a delicacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was incredible. The smooth and silky peanut butter filling is a real treat. Plus with the fudge topping, you can make it look fancy. I made TWO changes that I should mention. I added just one TBSP of lemon juice because I felt two would be a bit too much lemon. Also, for the crust I used an off-brand honey nut cheerios because it was what I had. It all worked though and this is a definite keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is an easy recipe to make. I used chocolate wafer cookies and butter for the crust, yummy! I ended up making it two weekends in a row for company. Everyone loved it. The first time I used a large pie pan the second time I used pre-made chocolate graham cracker crusts, they were good but not as good as the chocolate wafer cookie crust. Totally recommend for a dinner party during the hotter months. Almost tastes like peanut butter ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I used the recipe twice now, cooking for my beautiful wife to be whom loves peanut butter. The first time I followed the instructions to the 'T', except the pie crust. I trusted some other reviews as well as my taste bud 'instinct' and used pre made Oreo pie crust. The filling did not satisfy our hopes. It left me feeling a robbed and broken man... I just knew this pie had potential of magnificent proportions. So, after some time pondering, I came back to this with my sleeves rolled up and I wasn't leaving with another disappointment. My heart just couldn't take it. All I did for the second time around was switch the vanilla and lemon juice amounts, even adding just a little more vanilla because I kicked the peanut butter up to 1 cup. Again using that magical pre made Oreo Crust, AND IT BECAME ONE OF MY TOP FIVE FAVORITE DESERTS OF ALL TIME!!!! Adding a little more peanut butter made it a little more creamier!!!!!!! A day or two in the freezer and it still isn't losing it's phenomenally smooth texture! It probably wouldn't last past a few days though... EVERYONE IN THE HOUSE KILLS IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
this pie is a summer get together staple dessert- so incredibly delicious! the tang of the lemon juice with the peanut butter is to die for- although i do substitute fresh whipped cream for the cool whip (we dont like cool whip in my house). the result is an even richer and more decadent pie. i top off this masterpiece with a michigan favorite: Sanders Hot Fudge sauce. superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Definitely taste test the recipe before adding all the lemon juice! I used a little less than half what is called for. Perhaps if you use fresh lemon instead of concentrate you might need the higher amount, but frankly you can do without it and never miss it. This is a very rich dessert! Small portions are more than enough. I used the oreo crust and found it to be fine. Next time though I might use chocolate wafer cookies so I can put it in a bigger pie plate. There was almost 2C more filling than could fit in an oreo crust. I also chopped up 12 - 15 mini reese's peanut butter cups and added those - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe. Easy, fast and really good. I was a little worried about using Rice Krispies in a crust but they worked out fine. Followed the recipe with the exception of cutting the fresh lemon juice back to 1 tablespoon and thought it was perfect. I also didn't drizzle the fudge topping on until right before serving. Chopped mini reese's cups and sprinkled those and a few peanuts on top too. YUM! The first piece did not cooperate when I tried to remove it from the pan. I dipped the bottom of the pie in shallow hot water for a few seconds and that problem was fixed. Very pretty presentation and a great ending to our 4th of July meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States