E-Z Marinated Swordfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
OMG!!!! Please try this, people! the only change i made was using white wine (sauvg blanc) instead of vinegar, and i omitted the parsely. everything else i doubled (well, except the hotsauce & cayenne b/c of the hubs taste preferences. me, i'd of loved a kick but i love the man more...) then realized i needed more marinade due to the amount of fish i had (1.50 pounds) so i doubled again. marinaded the swordfish for just over 90 minutes and OH. MY. GAWD!! i personally could not stop raving about how delicious the flavor was even though i was the host. but everyone else was raving as well so i was only joining the chorus. truly the best swordfish i have ever, ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I tried this tonight with swordfish steaks from Trader Joes and marinated them for about 2 hours. I added 4 cloves of garlic I had 4 steaks, and also upped all of the spices by 1/2 of what was called for. These were extremely tasty and tender! It was a hit with the family, the flavors all came together perfectly and gave the fish a taste that wasn't over powering on anything. I'll keep this for quick weeknight dinners as what I was looking for tonight for a long time. I'm so surprised this doesn't have more ratings, it's not always about the ratings, it's about the ingredients and if they fit your likes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Absolutely fantastic - the best fish dish I have had in quite a while. I had to make some substitutions, though: (a)didn't have lime, so used lemon juice instead (my wife doesn't like lime anyway), (b) didn't have white wine vinegar, used white cooking wine, (c) didn't have ground ginger, used fresh chopped ginger, about 2 teaspoon, (d) didn't have hot pepper souce, used more cayenne - maybe 1 teaspoon, (e) didn't have thyme, used marjoram instead. This last change worried me a little bit, as the two herbs are quite different - but it worked out quite well. Next time, I am going to eliminate ginger (it seemed to be unnecessary) and maybe increase pepper/cayenne to add more zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Best swordfish recipe I've ever used...I was skeptical at first, but the flavors came together just right. I added garlic to the marinade and omitted the salt just for preference. Will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Used this recipe over mahi-mahi and it was delicious! Substituted olive oil for veggie and red wine vinegar for white - my husband and I LOVED it! Will definitely be making this again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very good marinade. Only comment is that the lime juice is a very dominant flavor. I will definately use again, but will reduce the amount a little so it isn't as strong. (only marinated it for 30 minutes). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
THIS WAS YUMMY! instead of the white wine vinigar i used red. For the hot sause i used franks red hot. it marinated about an hour. served with wild rice and grilled green squash. I would definently make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
We tried this recipe tonight - it was great. We normally do not like fish and we will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was a terrific surprise! When it comes to fish, my family is all over the map with likes and dislikes. Whenever I make a new recipe, it is always a gamble. I made this exactly as written, but for 4 servings. I only had enough time to marinate it for about 2 hours. I grilled it on the George Foreman. EVERYONE loved it. There was a small bit left over that I threw in a tossed salad for my lunch the next day. It was delicious. This is a permanent addition to my "go to" fish file with no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This just did not work for us. The recipe stated to marinate for at least 10 minutes and preferably up to 3 hours. I marinated about 2 hours and when I took the fish out to cook the lime juice had starting "cooking" the outside of the fish (like a ceviche). Once I cooked it the outside ended up a little tough and had a too strong lime/vinegar taste. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States