E-Z Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
They did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Did not add the cream of tartar based in the other reviews. Added crumbled Colby jack cheese for some saltiness but did not do a whole lot. Texture is nice, taste is good but simple. Ultimately I put cream cheese and blackberry jam inside and that was a big hit with my husband and daughter. Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I've made these twice. First exactly as written, the second time I shredded frozen butter into the flour mixture vs melting it, and added garlic and black pepper. They tend to get crispy bottoms (could be my oven) but are tasty and filling. PS - both times I left out the cream of tartar. You don't need it if you're using baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Not sure why this is such a highly rated recipe. The flavor and texture are both wrong. They taste like saltine crackers and have aren't flaky/airy like a biscuit should be. This is one the worst quick biscuit recipes I can recall having ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Yummy! 2nd time making these I omitted cream of tartar, and added 3/4 c. shredded Colby jack, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and dried parsley. I also subbed 1/2 of the flour with white whole wheat flour. 5 stars for both original recipe and my modified version :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Feeling a little home sick in the North Pole of Germany, I found this recipe and gave it a shot. GREAT recipe - these are all things I have on hand almost all the time, so that was a huge plus right there! That being said - I couldn't find my Cream of Tartar so left it out since it called for Baking Powder. The biscuits did come out a little flatter than I thought they would but - since I didn't follow it to a "T" I can't fault the recipe in any way. I think next time I'll add just a little more salt - but that's just me. The texture of this biscuit is great and holds up well with everything I threw at it... eggs - scrambled & fried, marmalades, butter & honey... I'm a happy girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe today because I needed something fast and easy to go with some homemade peach-pineapple preserves. I give this recipe 5 stars. I left out the Cream of Tartar and added an extra pinch of salt. I made 9 large biscuits instead of 12. They were light and fluffy with a little bit of delicious crispness on top. The key is definitely to use a light hand and incorporate ingredients but do not overmix. They do not hold together like a rolled and cut-out biscuit so have a fork handy, but it takes nothing away from the flavor. This will be a quick standby biscuit recipe for me. I love these easy drop biscuits. I might try the recipe with buttermilk just to compare. It would also be delicious to add dill weed and cheddar for a savory bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Love them! Moist and light!! I used butter instead of shortening and needed in oregano. i also spread garlic butter on top before I baked them and sprinkled parmesean cheese on afterwards! I didnt haven any garlic bread on hand for my pasta so I used these guys as a replacement! They were actually a hit with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I left out from of tartar and Cooked biscuits within 15 minutes of adding liquids to dry ingredients as suggested in other comment. My oven doesn't handle 450º very well, So I baked mine at 400º for 12 minutes. I also glazed top of each biscuit with butter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States