E-Z Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
My mom was a country cook, fried chicken and biscuits every Sunday dinner, biscuits almost every day. This is the biscuit recipe she used at least 3-4 times a week. She rarely made rolled out biscuits, she just didn't have the time. I make these biscuits myself a couple of times a month except I use self rising flour, they don't get quite as fluffy but they are still good. This is a great basic recipe, it's very versatile. I've added extra sugar and a little vanilla to make sweet biscuits for strawberry short cake, added cinnamon and raisins or other dried fruit for an easy sweet treat. My son loves them best with chopped jalapenos, cheddar cheese and a little garlic and onion powder that I make when we have chili or other Tex-Mex. I usually have to make a double batch any time I make them! I really recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaSaintO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Very simple, yet delicious! I didn't put the cream of tartar in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Thorne
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
These are GREAT! I've made biscuits from scratch and they never seem to come out right, but these are awesome. I did leave out the cream of tartar as recommended by the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I used whole wheat flour instead of white and honey instead of sugar. The only tip I'd recommend with using honey is to add it first to the cup within which the milk will be measured so that the total amount of liquid is 1.5 cups (butter, milk, honey). The batter was a bit too wet when I added the 2 tsp of honey to the wet ingredients by itself and thus didn't stick together as well. It was still delicious and I plan to make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Laidlaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
My go to, I rarely have cream of tartar so I just don't use it. These are great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Best drop biscuit ever! Sunday morning, wanted biscuits, didn't even measure. Fast, Perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIVAMOMMIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made recipe exactly as written. They were beautiful. Best part, tender on the inside and a bit crunchy on the outside.....PERFECT for hubby and me. Didn't notice any "bitter" taste as all. Of course, I had them covered with a lovely white sausage gravy...just like gramma and momma used to make. We did taste them "pre-gravy" and again,no bitterness. Oh, I melted the butter and then warmed the milk slightly and mixed those two and then added to dry ingredients. Best part, we were eating breakfast within 30 minutes, start to finish. Next time, I might try "buttermilk" instead of plain milk, just to check it out. I make all kinds of biscuits, but this will be my "go to" for ease and of course tastiness. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franci Hay Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Made these to go with sausage gravy & they were good. To eat as is, I personally would have made them a little bit sweeter. But the ease was great, tasted much better than canned biscuits. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Served w raw honey and cinnamon- my husband is obsessed w these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
These biscuits are delicious and easy to make. Our family gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States