Dynamite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I use 1 green and 1 red pepper and 2 yellow onions (I may have to try with a red one), 1 stalk of celery and just enough water to cover the bottom of the pot. The secret is to cook this for a long time - I don't transfer it to a slow cooker, I just cook it on the stove on a very low heat and once the veggies are limp and it's all bubbling, I put a wooden spoon under the cover to vent and reduce the liquid. I let it go for about 4 or 5 hours, stirring occasionally. Anyone who adds anything to this recipe (I'll make an exception of the parsley or basil) is NOT making a bonafide Rhode Island Dynamite. Anything else is a Sloppy Joe so you'd be better off looking for a specific recipe for that instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I'm from RI. Been making this dish ever since I could turn on the stove. I double the amount of both onions and peppers and add a few stalks of celery and a good bit of garlic. I use my homemade spaghetti sauce and never, ever, ever add that much water!! I also put the hot sauce on the table for those who like it hot because I don't. I've also made it with ground turkey. It changed the flavor, but was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Can't compare this to the true Rhode Island dynamite sandwich taste since I've never had one, but my son described this one pretty good, "A very well done sloppy Joe". I followed everything as directed except halved the recipe (I did add a whole red pepper, cut into chunks, thinking that is probably what the cook meant). Served on hoagie rolls, topped with shredded cheddar cheese and kosher dill pickle slices. The hubs really liked it. I did find the history a bit interesting and now I can say I I've had one. A cool side of creamy dill sour cream cucumbers goes well with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great job! We called them torpedoes when I was a kid! Thanks for bringing back the memories from Patuckit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Great for parties. The longer it cooks the better it is. I add fresh Parsley, basil also. Childhood staple in my home growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I'm from R.I. now in texas and My daughter makes this and everyone loves them.Making a pot right now They are the best,and deserve the name DYNAMITES ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Latham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nederland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I want to rate this recipe higher, because dynamites are so freakin awesome. But unfortunately this recipe is a start but as-is does not make a great batch of dynamites. Here are the changes you need: After browning your meat add a large red bell pepper (not one strip) and 2 large green bell peppers, seeded and cut into STRIPS. Add two large onions (not medium) also cut into strips. Add 4 cloves of garlic, and 4 large ribs of celery, chopped. Cook until vegetables are tender. Drain the grease and add a tablespoon of dried oregano, 1 to 2 tablespoons (not teaspoons) of red pepper flake, and salt and pepper along with the rest mentioned in the recipe to the crock pot. The secret ingredient is 4 to 6 ounces of yellow cheddar. Unfortunately one batch of dynamites will never replicate the taste of church bazaar dynamites, where all the members of the ladies auxiliary make a batch of their recipe and 20 batches are mixed together in a huge pot and dished out to lucky patrons. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My family has always eaten this over rice. I use the whole red pepper and add celery and a can of diced tomatoes. Dynamite is supposed to be spicey hot, that's why it's called Dynamite! So don't skip the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
For more flavor I added about 4 cups of chopped celery (at least 1/2 inch chunks),one can of tomato paste with equal parts water, one 15 ounce can tomato sauce and large can of whole tomatoes. My mother-in-law makes this and usually serves it on hot dog or hamburger rolls. I've even served it on top of pasta...yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
i follow driections and my family loved it.will be making again i like to add hot sauce seperately
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States