Dynamite Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I was curious about this recipe, wondering how it would turn out with uncooked veggies in mayo type sauce....it was amazing!! My husband, who doesn't care for fish much, LOVED it! Used lite mayo and while sauce was a bit thin, was perfect with sushi rice and snap peas. Follow the recipe...it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I halved the ingredients for 2 people and had lunch the next day too. Didn't add the sugar for lower carbs. This was knock our socks off yummy. We both couldn't get over how flavorful and how well the fish was cooked for cooking so long. I think cutting it in bite sized pieces helped cook evenly, and the mushroom sauce on top was thick and so kept the fish from burning. Was also surprised that halibut is so costly right now. We'll save it for special friends and splurges for ourselves. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOUBIRD
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I did change a few things: I used vegenaise instead of mayonnaise, because I wanted to cut out dairy. I also used extra chili garlic sauce, and toasted the sesame seeds. Thrown on a bed of fresh arugula, it was one of the best meals I've had this month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
The flavors were unbelievable. Very sushi-ish which we love as well. The only change I made was I used Ono since I didn't have halibut in the freezer. If I were to change anything up, next time I'll use a nice tuna steak and use only the broiler so it turns out nice and rare. I get intimidated cooking fish when I can't see it cuz I don't want to overcook it. Since the fish was buried in this delicious mushroom mixture I had to go digging to watch the cooking progress. With tuna, rare is better which takes off some pressure there. Thanks for the great recipe! (If by chance the tuna doesn't pan out well, I'll go back to your method!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
yummy! the few modifications i made were this: i sauteed the onion and mushroom before adding it to the white sauce. i also cut the mayo in half and substituted low fat greek plain yogurt. it was delish, the family also agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Photo by Stirring up Trouble
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
The mayo keeps the halibut moist and I like the flavors, but no WOW factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very nice! It's different from the fish I usually cook. I liked it a lot and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLISKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was great! My husband ate this over about 3 days to polish off the leftovers. This is DEFINITELY going into my kitchen "sure-things" list. The only things I did different were to leave out the mushrooms and chop the onions instead of slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Used this recipe with a combination of halibut and cod for supper tonight. Quick and easy to prepare - tasted great. Substituted a fat free, non soy mayonnaise and used Splenda rather than sugar. The broiling took less than 5 minutes. Would not hesitate to serve to company and/or use with another white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by centralvalgal
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I follow the recipe each time I've made it since my husband's epic fishing trip to Kodiak, Alaska a few years ago. The only change I've made is to add the sesame seeds before broiling step. The kids and husband all LOVE this. It's dynamite, especially when you caught your own halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States