Dutch Oven Mountain Man Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Giving this 5 stars because of the inspiration & idea provided. Used the basic recipe idea but added crumbled bacon & cayenne pepper. Camping with multiple families ....a 7 qt Dutch oven fed 8 adults for 2 breakfasts...the leftovers were even better! I precooked the sausage, bacon & home fries...easier storage for travel plus good call; unforeseen overnite rain storm= no campfire in the am...so had to cook this on propane grill...took longer but still a hit! Leftovers tasted like hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I simplified this by buying the precooked crumbled sausage and just put all the ingredients in at once, mixed it well and topped with some more shredded cheese. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Went camping with a group of 15 friends and was in charge of breakfast, I made this dish. It turned out great and everyone loved it. Does need a little salt and pepper but we added that while eating. For less fuss in the morning, I chopped everything the night before and used pre-cooked Jimmy Dean sausage to insure the sausage was cooked fully since using a campfire. Everyone loved it and I was told it had to be used on the next camping trips! If you have a second dutch oven biscuits go well with this meal as well. This year we had more campers, make sure if you increase ingredients to increase your cook time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Good while camping, but I wouldn't make it at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
So yummy! We've used this recipe for camping and tailgating at football games, putting the coals down right on the pavement! Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I have made this several times. It is a great way to feed a large crowd when camping or doing outdoor activities. I found that the type of sausage you use has a big impact on the taste of the breakfast. For the first batch I used a maple and honey breakfast sausage. It was a little too sweet for my taste (personal preference!). The next batch I used a hot Italian sausage which was much more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
this is an awsome dish to make while having friends and family over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I don't use coals on the top, it gets hot enough to bake. She's right though, this makes allot!!! I also used a 10 inch oven and cut the recipe and half. Still made enough for breakfast for a few day's. It freezes and refrigerates good too for the next time. Maybe try with extra ingredients next time, but like it the basic way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! Everyone loved it. I used the syrup flavored Jimmy Dean suasage which turned out nice. I could have used a lot more seasoning, as it was a little bland, but that was on me for not adding enough to the eggs; but it's rare for me to cook 12 eggs at a go so I just didn't add enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Ok made 2 of these for my son and 12 frat bros! Made one with Sausage as written...was ok...needs hot or seasoned sausage. Mild sausage gets lost in the mix. Made another one with bacon (chopped the cooked) and they finished it off. It was definitely the better of the 2. I was at home so baked them in 13x9 pans in 350 oven for about 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States