Dutch Oven Mountain Man Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
this is an awsome dish to make while having friends and family over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
very good recipe,i used my dutch oven as always,i use dutch oven liners for easy clean up so i made up my sausage,bacon,peppers,onion,and garlic in the pan than threw it all in the dutch oven.good hearty breakfast for our clam digging trip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodsland Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Went camping with a group of 15 friends and was in charge of breakfast, I made this dish. It turned out great and everyone loved it. Does need a little salt and pepper but we added that while eating. For less fuss in the morning, I chopped everything the night before and used pre-cooked Jimmy Dean sausage to insure the sausage was cooked fully since using a campfire. Everyone loved it and I was told it had to be used on the next camping trips! If you have a second dutch oven biscuits go well with this meal as well. This year we had more campers, make sure if you increase ingredients to increase your cook time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This really turned out to be an awesome breakfast treat. I didn't have any sausage, so I fried some bacon. Then added the onion and green pepper to the bacon grease. Mixed everything together then baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Topped with shredded cheese. Hubby topped his with sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I have made this several times. It is a great way to feed a large crowd when camping or doing outdoor activities. I found that the type of sausage you use has a big impact on the taste of the breakfast. For the first batch I used a maple and honey breakfast sausage. It was a little too sweet for my taste (personal preference!). The next batch I used a hot Italian sausage which was much more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This recipe tasted great! I cooked it at home, in a frying pan on med heat, and put it in the oven at 350 for the same amount of time. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this in a 9+13 pan and it was great! Made a ton of leftovers which is what I wanted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
So yummy! We've used this recipe for camping and tailgating at football games, putting the coals down right on the pavement! Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Perfect Breakfast for Camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Mrs. Mik
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is my own recipe, and of course, I think it's fabulous! When I cook in my Dutch ovens, I use CHARCOAL and wrote the instructions for using CHARCOAL. 6-9 coals underneath and 12 to 18 on top will give you approximately 350 degrees in your Dutch oven. Also, as any seasoned Dutch oven cook will tell you, you need to monitor your coals and add more as they burn away to maintain the proper temperature. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abbotsford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States