Dutch Oven Mountain Man Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Mik
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is my own recipe, and of course, I think it's fabulous! When I cook in my Dutch ovens, I use CHARCOAL and wrote the instructions for using CHARCOAL. 6-9 coals underneath and 12 to 18 on top will give you approximately 350 degrees in your Dutch oven. Also, as any seasoned Dutch oven cook will tell you, you need to monitor your coals and add more as they burn away to maintain the proper temperature. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abbotsford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this in a 9+13 pan and it was great! Made a ton of leftovers which is what I wanted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This recipe tasted great! I cooked it at home, in a frying pan on med heat, and put it in the oven at 350 for the same amount of time. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I did not use a dutch oven to make this, I used a cast iron skillet in my oven. I just sauteed the sausage in the skillet with a little butter, then added the onion, garlic (I did add more garlic, six cloves or so), bell pepper, the hasbrowns and let them brown up in the grease. After the veggies had browned, I added the eggs. I stuck the whole skillet in the oven and baked it for the 40 minutes, then sprinkled the cheese and baked for another 20. I did salt/pepper the food while sauteeing the vegetables and I added a little hot sauce and garlic/onion powder to the eggs before adding it to the skillet. This was very easy for me to adapt to the stove and we all really liked this. I was tickled because I got a chance to use my cast iron skillet from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This really turned out to be an awesome breakfast treat. I didn't have any sausage, so I fried some bacon. Then added the onion and green pepper to the bacon grease. Mixed everything together then baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Topped with shredded cheese. Hubby topped his with sriracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Perfect Breakfast for Camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I've used this recipe twice while camping. The first attempt was done as suggested and seemed a bit dry, so the second attempt I mixed the cheese in with the eggs then folded it into the potatoes and finished it off with some sliced american cheese on top. Seemed more moist and better overall. Either way it's a great recipe and we found it to feed 6 easily with a little leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
very good recipe,i used my dutch oven as always,i use dutch oven liners for easy clean up so i made up my sausage,bacon,peppers,onion,and garlic in the pan than threw it all in the dutch oven.good hearty breakfast for our clam digging trip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodsland Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was a good breakfast, but I thought it was a little dry too. I used half the potato called for because 2 lbs seemed like a lot. Next time I will try adding more egg and some milk and see if that helps out a little. It was still darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Ok made 2 of these for my son and 12 frat bros! Made one with Sausage as written...was ok...needs hot or seasoned sausage. Mild sausage gets lost in the mix. Made another one with bacon (chopped the cooked) and they finished it off. It was definitely the better of the 2. I was at home so baked them in 13x9 pans in 350 oven for about 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States