Dutch Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I am dutch and i remember my mom making this for my husband and me the day we arrived in holland for a 2 week stay, we both liked it very much and this recipe is very close like my mom made it thank you, we enjoyed this very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is the best recipe!! I am from Holland and knew this dish already. We use to make it in 3 layers. first the leeks (not to cooked) than the meat and as last the potatoes. You get a nice brown crust on the patatoes. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I love this recipe. It's so easy to play with and add what you have in your kitchen (although I suppose that's the definition of casserole!). I have made it as is and I've also made it without the peppers and chilis and instead substituted some zucchini I had on hand. It was just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel den Hoed
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a good, hearty casserole. We used similar ingredients but made it easier. Instead of boiling the potatoes and leeks I sauteed the leeks while microwaving the potatoes until soft. When the leeks were soft I put them onto a plate and sauteed the rest of the meat and veggies in the same pan. While those were sauteeing I mashed the potatoes. This made it easy and use less dishes. We did sub veggie meat for the beef and my husband added ham after baking. Being Dutch he enjoyed it very much! Leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
i did not use ham as i do not eat red meat i also used vegetarian mince it turned out lovely really filling and the cheese on top was so tasty!!also i would add salt and pepper during cooking as i had to when eating.very good dish thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
YUM! I also was a little uncertain about all the ingredients in this coming together - I had also never used leeks before. But I have just polished off the last batch I made (just yesterday) and already have a shopping list to remake it tomorrow for leftovers during the week. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabool, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I really like it. Have made it a bunch of times. It freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Very good dish great for cold weather. wasnt to sure on how to layer it though..I added ham inside and on top of the casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I found this very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delfzyl, Groningen, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was hearty and filling. My first experience with leeks. I think I may have missed out on some flavour for not preparing the leeks properly or something. Next time I think I'd add some garlic (I am a garlic person). Oh and I used bacon instead of ham and jalapenos instead of green chiles. Overall I liked it. A bit more time to prepare than the recipe says. Would probably work great in a slow cooker! Next time I am using my slow cooker to make it easier to prepare (no boiling of potatoes and leeks, just brown the beef and mix it all together well at the end to get the mashed potato effect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States