Dutch Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a decent casserole - something like Shepherd's Pie. I layered it like others had suggested but I think next time I would mix it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I wanted to try this casserole for two reasons, besides sounding delicious... First of all, I liked that many vegetables were incorporated into this dish and there was no added fat. Also, I remember dining in a Dutch household many years ago. I think the dish was potatoes and kale mashed together with other ingredients and I absolutely loved it. My husband and I love leeks so that was another reason for trying this. This recipe was fantastic! It was a bit of a job putting it together but well worth it since we like leftovers. It was very satisfying on a cold day and the ham and cheese added a lot of flavour. Of course, the taste of all those leeks, peppers and potatoes will win me over anytime! Thanks for another great dinner idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was tasty! It doesn't sound as good as it really is. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
A very easy dish to throw together. I did saute the leeks with the onion and a couple of cloves of garlic. I didn't have green chile peppers so I added some ground chili powder, it still needed something more in seasoning though. I also added some nutmeg to the mashed potatoes as another reviewer suggested. This was nice to layer by using leek mixture, ground beef mixture, mashed potatoes and finally the cheese and cooked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
in a word - wow! so easy to make and I couldn't keep any leftovers long enough to call them my own. My husband loved this and even my six year old (who tends to be finicky) was eating enough for two. I made it for the first time last week and have already received two "strongly hinted suggestions" via my spouse that I really should make it again...lol Thanks for a fantastic recipe Brigit! (btw - my small alterations includes ommitting the chile and the red peppers as well as the ham)...this is just one of those dishes that if you don't havethe ingredients around (as was my case), all of the other great things about it make up for it! Definately a do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. Very easy to make and bf came back for thirds. :) I followed the suggestion to layer it leeks/ground beef/mashed potatoes/cheese + ham style and it came out looking great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is good however, I have made this when I lived in the Netherlands and its typically a very basic recipe....mashed potatoes w/ some nutmeg, sauteed leeks w/ garlic and onion, and some dutch cheese on top before some fine bread crumbs go on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
The meat part of this dish was rather bland, but overall my husband really liked it. Therefore I will try this again but add a few more herbs to the meat mixture to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This turned out nicely. I took the advice of another reviewer by microwaving the potatoes and sauteing the leeks to save time. I also added a bit more seasoning and salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was very good and simple, however i didnt have any ham, so i used bacon, and it added a little extra flavour. I also added garlic to my mashed potatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States