Dutch Leek Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is the best recipe!! I am from Holland and knew this dish already. We use to make it in 3 layers. first the leeks (not to cooked) than the meat and as last the potatoes. You get a nice brown crust on the patatoes. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is good however, I have made this when I lived in the Netherlands and its typically a very basic recipe....mashed potatoes w/ some nutmeg, sauteed leeks w/ garlic and onion, and some dutch cheese on top before some fine bread crumbs go on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was hearty and filling. My first experience with leeks. I think I may have missed out on some flavour for not preparing the leeks properly or something. Next time I think I'd add some garlic (I am a garlic person). Oh and I used bacon instead of ham and jalapenos instead of green chiles. Overall I liked it. A bit more time to prepare than the recipe says. Would probably work great in a slow cooker! Next time I am using my slow cooker to make it easier to prepare (no boiling of potatoes and leeks, just brown the beef and mix it all together well at the end to get the mashed potato effect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel den Hoed
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a good, hearty casserole. We used similar ingredients but made it easier. Instead of boiling the potatoes and leeks I sauteed the leeks while microwaving the potatoes until soft. When the leeks were soft I put them onto a plate and sauteed the rest of the meat and veggies in the same pan. While those were sauteeing I mashed the potatoes. This made it easy and use less dishes. We did sub veggie meat for the beef and my husband added ham after baking. Being Dutch he enjoyed it very much! Leftovers were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
excellent dish, very hearty has become a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Good dish, husband went back for thirds so will make it again. I added 1/4 tea. red pepper flakes, salt and pepper during preperation and would keep it at that. Not a dish that I would take to a potluck or serve to company because flavor is a bit too unique and appearance is less than flatering but overall good for a family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was very good and simple, however i didnt have any ham, so i used bacon, and it added a little extra flavour. I also added garlic to my mashed potatoes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I am dutch and i remember my mom making this for my husband and me the day we arrived in holland for a 2 week stay, we both liked it very much and this recipe is very close like my mom made it thank you, we enjoyed this very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
The meat part of this dish was rather bland, but overall my husband really liked it. Therefore I will try this again but add a few more herbs to the meat mixture to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Some of the ingredients may sound a little weird at first, but rest assured they all come together for a tasty surprise! This dish turned out to be sooo...good! It took a little bit longer for the entire process than what the time said,but it did turn out to be extremely well worth it! This is another winner at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States