Dutch Croquetten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. It's super easy, and the veal mixture can be made early and kept in the fridge until you're ready to deep fry. I highly suggest this with some spicy mustard dipping sauce, it complements the sweetness of the Croquetten. I did end up using a couple more tablespoons of flour to make it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are very close to what my dutch family ate at Christmas Eve, except we used chicken (instead of veal) and mushrooms minus the chili powder and cheese. When I make these I love using one of those rotisserie chickens from the store and fresh thick sliced button mushrooms sauteed in butter and onions... also if you have some "Maggi" on hand I would use that instead Worcestershire. Once you're finished frying serve w/ toast and ground mustard. YUM! Also these are very easy to freeze and fry later... nice for a quick lunch/ dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyhjansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Growing up, our family traditionally ate these by smashing the warm croquetten on buttered bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
very good, the dutch way is to roll them into round balls and eat with hot mustard-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
5 stars because I love this stuff! But did modify: I did ground beef and used 2 beefy soup bones to make the stock. I will double the beef over the ground as well as triple the roux to get it closer in texture to the real thing. Chilled overnight. For the coating I used equal parts zesty bread crumbs and panko. I will freeze and then bag into portions for the freezer for throughout the year as they are time consuming to make... even when made with love :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
These are really yummy. a good tip is to set the mixture in the fridge, let it firm up a bit and it makes it easier to work with. let them cool down, they are hot!! i dipped mine in spicy mustard, yuuuummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very flavorful, very tender. Be sure to make them small for ease of turning (my husband made mondo croquettes and they fell apart, but were still good). I also just breaded the croquettes, rather than dredging in flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
croqetten normally are made from cheep meat that needs to stew for a long time and will then fall apart in to strings of meat. ground beef is faster but they are even yummer with the stewed meat. when you make them into meat ball sized balls they are called bitterballen, great for partys with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellezevenaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I found these very close to what you get in holland, i didn't have ground veal so i used ground chicken and they were still very close, next time I will use the idea of using stewed meat, which should make it similar to what you find there. I banked the croquetten instead of frying them and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
These are very good, and close to what you can find in Holland (with the exception of cheese). I must agree with other reviewers that stewed/slow-cooked shredded meat is better, more flavorful, and definitely more traditional. The cooking spice, gehaktkruiden, does help with a more authentic flavor, but if you don't have that, you can use curry powder (which is listed here as optional, but definitely worth it), being careful not to add too much. It should be a "behind the scenes" type flavor. I'm not sure why cheese is added in a traditional Dutch Kroketten, but to each his own. These also freeze well, so you can make more for later. :) Thanks, Celly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States