Dutch Croquetten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
These are really yummy. a good tip is to set the mixture in the fridge, let it firm up a bit and it makes it easier to work with. let them cool down, they are hot!! i dipped mine in spicy mustard, yuuuummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
croqetten normally are made from cheep meat that needs to stew for a long time and will then fall apart in to strings of meat. ground beef is faster but they are even yummer with the stewed meat. when you make them into meat ball sized balls they are called bitterballen, great for partys with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellezevenaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. It's super easy, and the veal mixture can be made early and kept in the fridge until you're ready to deep fry. I highly suggest this with some spicy mustard dipping sauce, it complements the sweetness of the Croquetten. I did end up using a couple more tablespoons of flour to make it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
If you want to make a great kroket here's how you do it. Take a roast (beef in my mind is best) cook it in the crockpot for the day (this is why people don't make krokets often its an all day affair) shred the beef, make a roux, throw in some ketjap manis, mustard (i prefer spicy), roll those bad boys into balls (biterballen) or oblong (kroket). To bread them this is a three step process flour, egg, then bread crumbs. Deep fry. A sign of a good kroket is the breading is separated from the filling after its cooked. There is no true recipe for krokets taste your way through. If you don't like the way it tastes change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is not at all like the real dutch Kroketten. First off you need to use roast beef, not ground beef or veal. Cook your roast in a slow cooker for 6 hours untill it easily shreds. you want to cook the roast in beef bullion cubes and water (about 5-10 depending on size of roast ) once your beef is ready and cool. Add about 1-2 tbs of fresh chopped parsley, and 1-2 tbs of thyme, puree half a yellow onion and add to meat mix and a tsp of black pepper. Now to get the real kick that the dutch love you need a spice called " gehaktkruiden" which can be purchased at a dutch foods specialty store. If you cant get this add the paprika, but do try to find this dutch spice as it really does give it the flavor you need. and add to your taste. Set your beef aside and now make your "bechamel" sauce, in a sauce pan melt 1/3 c of butter, add 1/3 c of flour and mix in 1 c of warm milk ( preferably homo or 2%) add a pinch of salt to taste. this will make a paste that you add to the meat. mix in real well and store in fridge over night. shape into cylinders, roll in flour and dip in beaten egg then roll in the bead crumb coating, repeat . deep fry and serve with mustard. If you are not serving right away put in freezer and fry them when you need them. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
very good, the dutch way is to roll them into round balls and eat with hot mustard-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Growing up, our family traditionally ate these by smashing the warm croquetten on buttered bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very flavorful, very tender. Be sure to make them small for ease of turning (my husband made mondo croquettes and they fell apart, but were still good). I also just breaded the croquettes, rather than dredging in flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I found these very close to what you get in holland, i didn't have ground veal so i used ground chicken and they were still very close, next time I will use the idea of using stewed meat, which should make it similar to what you find there. I banked the croquetten instead of frying them and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are very close to what my dutch family ate at Christmas Eve, except we used chicken (instead of veal) and mushrooms minus the chili powder and cheese. When I make these I love using one of those rotisserie chickens from the store and fresh thick sliced button mushrooms sauteed in butter and onions... also if you have some "Maggi" on hand I would use that instead Worcestershire. Once you're finished frying serve w/ toast and ground mustard. YUM! Also these are very easy to freeze and fry later... nice for a quick lunch/ dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyhjansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States