Dutch Croquetten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
These are really yummy. a good tip is to set the mixture in the fridge, let it firm up a bit and it makes it easier to work with. let them cool down, they are hot!! i dipped mine in spicy mustard, yuuuummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Growing up, our family traditionally ate these by smashing the warm croquetten on buttered bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Very flavorful, very tender. Be sure to make them small for ease of turning (my husband made mondo croquettes and they fell apart, but were still good). I also just breaded the croquettes, rather than dredging in flour, then egg, then breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
very good, the dutch way is to roll them into round balls and eat with hot mustard-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ptbssg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
croqetten normally are made from cheep meat that needs to stew for a long time and will then fall apart in to strings of meat. ground beef is faster but they are even yummer with the stewed meat. when you make them into meat ball sized balls they are called bitterballen, great for partys with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellezevenaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I found these very close to what you get in holland, i didn't have ground veal so i used ground chicken and they were still very close, next time I will use the idea of using stewed meat, which should make it similar to what you find there. I banked the croquetten instead of frying them and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. It's super easy, and the veal mixture can be made early and kept in the fridge until you're ready to deep fry. I highly suggest this with some spicy mustard dipping sauce, it complements the sweetness of the Croquetten. I did end up using a couple more tablespoons of flour to make it stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm sorry, but these just weren't good for us at all. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly changing veal (don't eat it) to ground chicken and I had nothing but a big sticky mess when I tried to make the rolls to dust with flour and breadcrumbs!! I wanted so much to make them for my dutch daughter in law but glad she was not here to see them turn out a disaster! Finally just made them in some kinda patty so we could eat them instead of wasting the meat. Not too good and probably won't try again at least until I find out what went wrong! sigh. HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are very close to what my dutch family ate at Christmas Eve, except we used chicken (instead of veal) and mushrooms minus the chili powder and cheese. When I make these I love using one of those rotisserie chickens from the store and fresh thick sliced button mushrooms sauteed in butter and onions... also if you have some "Maggi" on hand I would use that instead Worcestershire. Once you're finished frying serve w/ toast and ground mustard. YUM! Also these are very easy to freeze and fry later... nice for a quick lunch/ dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyhjansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States